Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 6th, 2012, 11:43 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 211
New MBP (no NVIDIA) + cs5

Hi guys,
I wonder if there is a work around of having a fater render and playback.
I have the new MBP(with ATI) and using cs5 on it, I thought it would be fast, but i have 3 layers of video and 3 layers of audio plus color correction, it doesnt perform well.it is slow.

anyone here experiencing this?what is the best way to have MBP renderplayback faster?

thanks
__________________
Bay Area Wedding Videographerwww.reb6studios.com
Sigmund Reboquio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2012, 06:35 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: New MBP (no NVIDIA) + cs5

I doubt there is a solution that would satisfy you.

You can decrease the playback resolution, but I doubt it will enhance the speed to the extent that you're interested in.

You can buy an external thunderbolt enclosure and put nVidia card in there.

You can move to a PC with nVidia.

Perhaps you can wait until CS6 where perhaps maybe possibly there will be a support for OpenCL. But I wouldn't count on it very much, besides OpenCL performance will not be on par with CUDA anyway.

You can also switch to Final Cut Pro X, where your MBP will likely perform better.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2012, 02:51 PM   #3
Adobe Systems
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 190
Re: New MBP (no NVIDIA) + cs5

Quote:
Perhaps you can wait until CS6 where perhaps maybe possibly there will be a support for OpenCL.
Sounds like a reasonable feature request: http://www.adobe.com/go/wish
__________________
Kevin Monahan - Support Product ManageróDVA
After Effects - Premiere Pro - Media Encoder - Prelude - SpeedGrade - Encore
Kevin Monahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2012, 03:25 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: New MBP (no NVIDIA) + cs5

Kevin, you mean you have not been working on it for past year? :gasp:

Of course, you will most likely not be able to answer :).

Anyway, request send, even though we're moving to PCs pretty soon.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2012, 11:14 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
Re: New MBP (no NVIDIA) + cs5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sigmund Reboquio View Post
Hi guys,
I wonder if there is a work around of having a fater render and playback.
I have the new MBP(with ATI) and using cs5 on it, I thought it would be fast, but i have 3 layers of video and 3 layers of audio plus color correction, it doesnt perform well.it is slow.

anyone here experiencing this?what is the best way to have MBP renderplayback faster?

thanks
What video format is it? What exactly are you doing that requires 3 layers of video to playback perfectly?

I use a 2011 17" MBP and I have no problem playing 3 layers of native AVCHD in RT with two layers scaled with motion controls. They play back fine with playback set to 1/2 resolution. If I drop to 1/4 resolution it is even better. Not as smooth as with Mercury but no slouch either. The only down side is having to preview at 1/2 or 1/4 resolution. For normal editing this is fine. If you need to edit through a card and HD-SDI at full res in RT then perhaps a laptop period is not the best solution.

I should also note I bought FCPX when it first came out and it was just as sluggish on this same system. Scrubbing was a bit better in FCPX. FCPX does lock up a lot for me which is why I switched to CS5.5.

I also noticed you mentioned CS5. CS5.5 has a lot of enhancements for native playback of certain formats such as AVCHD.

I have also tried CS5.5 on bootcamp on this same machine and felt the PC version wasn't as good which I was a bit surprised about. Then again it was through bootcamp so I wouldn't really take that as a final word.

Do I wish I had mercury and CS5.5 performed better on my MBP? Yes. Is it a deal breaker? Not really, so far. I will say this however. I do miss FCP7 at times. The other day I was fed up with the slow scrubbing in CS5.5 and moved the footage to FCP7 and was shocked how smooth scrubbing was. I love the native workflow but man do I miss smooth as silk scrubbing.

I tried out Cineform with CS5.5 on my MBP and the scrubbing was super slick but I felt playback performance was actually worse then native. ProRes seems to be a bit sluggish for scrubbing in CS5.5 for whatever reason.

Oddly the format that seems to scrub like butter and perform well is native AVCHD-intra.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

EVS
(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network