Dual mono tracks to Stereo submix at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 21st, 2012, 11:15 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 53
Dual mono tracks to Stereo submix

Hi guys,

I'm using PluralEyes, a program that syncs audio with video, and requires me to export a sequence into an XML. Unfortunately, XML takes all the stereo tracks I recorded with and makes them dual mono.

In the timeline, I have now double the audio tracks, and each of them are mono. I would like to revert this.

I found that I had to create a "stereo submix", but I have no idea how to take it from there. There's a lot I don't know about Premiere Pro, what do I do?

http://i.imgur.com/SWKv8.png
Peter Malcolm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2012, 11:57 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 51
Re: Dual mono tracks to Stereo submix

Now, I don't know about PluralEyes and the XML stuff, and I don't know how PrPro sees your clips, but...

I shoot with an Canon XF100 and the video is a MXF format file. PrPro brings in the audio as two mono tracks.

I can right click on the clip and select Modify -> Audio... and I can interpret the audio from two mono tracks to one L-R stereo track.

Maybe you can do something similar?
David Trayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 01:13 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Dual mono tracks to Stereo submix

1. In Audio mixer pan your A1 track to -100 (left), and your A2 track to +100 (right)
2. At the bottom of each track in audio mixer there is a pull-down menu where this track is send after all the effects and sliders in mixer are applied. Choose your stereo submix track here.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 04:53 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 53
Re: Dual mono tracks to Stereo submix

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Trayers View Post
I can right click on the clip and select Modify -> Audio... and I can interpret the audio from two mono tracks to one L-R stereo track.

Maybe you can do something similar?
I can't, all the options under "track format" are greyed out! Could it be because I have a segment of the clip in the sequence? I don't want to lose the sync though, so I can't get rid of it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bart Walczak
1. In Audio mixer pan your A1 track to -100 (left), and your A2 track to +100 (right)
2. At the bottom of each track in audio mixer there is a pull-down menu where this track is send after all the effects and sliders in mixer are applied. Choose your stereo submix track here.
This works, thanks a bunch! But how to I add effects to the now stereo footage of certain scenes into the submix? Is it impossible to see the clips in it; I can only add effects to the entire track and all its footage?
Peter Malcolm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2012, 02:34 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Dual mono tracks to Stereo submix

You can add effects to the whole submix track in the mixer, to the separate tracks in the mixer as well, and you can also add them to separate clips in the timeline by selecting clip and applying the effect. You can copy any of added effects to another clip by selecting the applied effect(s), right clicking and choosing copy, or pressing ctrl/cmd + C, and then simply choosing the destination clip(s) and pressing ctrl/cmd + V.

Unfortunately, you can't apply stereo effects to mono clips, but most of them are duplicates anyway, so it should be not much of a problem.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2012, 12:49 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 53
Re: Dual mono tracks to Stereo submix

I've decided to just take the original stereo files, and drag them to the timeline to create new audio tracks directly underneath the mono ones, then delete the mono ones. Didn't think of that one before. Thanks for the help anyways guys.
Peter Malcolm is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network