quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2012, 05:09 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy

I just upgraded from a nvidia gts 240, stock card from a dell, to a Quadro 2000D, and when I do multicam its still choppy and looks bad.

I have a 3 disk raid 0, that is getting around 260mb read and write

The 2000d is a certified CUDA card.
I noticed there are a couple different drivers for the Quadro, what one would I want to use, or how should I configure it?

there Driver choices are "ODE Graphics Driver" or "Performance Driver" or "Partner Certified Driver" and a couple more

i had 4 streams of 1080p Cinform "High Quality" files


system specs 18gig of ram, core i7 920
C-dirve for OS/programs
3 disk raid 0
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2012, 08:10 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy

Just a quick test Dave...

Mute the audio on the far left of the track, and see if it's still choppy...
There's been issues in the past with some users. It's an audio issue, and not video.
Not sure what you mean about "looks bad"...
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2012, 09:42 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Re: quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy

that did nothing here is a screen shot, the right main video window looks like 8 bit Nintendo.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5271200/45.jpg
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2012, 09:44 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Re: quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Manojlovic View Post
Just a quick test Dave...

Mute the audio on the far left of the track, and see if it's still choppy...
There's been issues in the past with some users. It's an audio issue, and not video.
Not sure what you mean about "looks bad"...
that did nothing here is a screen shot, the right main video window looks like 8 bit Nintendo.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5271200/45.jpg
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2012, 10:38 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy

Hey Dave....

Okay, firstly, I'll assume that you have the Mercury playback engine (hardware supported) option, and not software only selected.

Secondly, what i see is the source, and not the preview monitor. I suppose keeping it pixelated allows for speedier playback.
But let us know what the Program Monitor is showing, since the Program Monitor is an indicator of quality.
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2012, 12:09 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Re: quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Manojlovic View Post
Hey Dave....

Okay, firstly, I'll assume that you have the Mercury playback engine (hardware supported) option, and not software only selected.

Secondly, what i see is the source, and not the preview monitor. I suppose keeping it pixelated allows for speedier playback.
But let us know what the Program Monitor is showing, since the Program Monitor is an indicator of quality.
Well when I switched it to Software, not GPU, the pixelization went away. Not sure whats going on, I placed some video clips on the drive in a new folder and it wasn't choppy anymore.
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2012, 05:41 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Re: quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy

Dave,

This does not solve your problem, but you do realize that the Quadro 2000 is only a low entry level Quadro card at a high end price? It is around 4 times more expensive than the GT 240, but delivers only marginally better performance, and is way outclassed by a much more affordable GTX 570, that is around 0.6 times the price of the Quadro 2000 and the 570 performs at least 2 times better.

Do you have the same results when you have both the source and program monitor set to 100%?
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2012, 12:56 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
Re: quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy

maybe ill just return it then, I want one that is official for the adobe cuda, SO the 570 would be better?


GeForce GTX 285
GeForce GTX 470
GeForce GTX 570
GeForce GTX 580
Quadro CX
Quadro FX 3700M
Quadro FX 3800
Quadro FX 3800M
Quadro FX 4800
Quadro FX 5800
Quadro 2000
Quadro 2000D
Quadro 2000M
Quadro 3000M
Quadro 4000
Quadro 4000M
Quadro 5000
Quadro 5000M
Quadro 5010M
Quadro 6000
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2012, 05:44 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Re: quadro 2000d, with multicam, choppy

Yes, David, the GTX 570 would be a significant improvement over either that Quadro 2000D or the GTS 240. You see, the GTS 240 is basically a 9800 GT with its 112 CUDA cores; however, most GTS 240s have only 512MB of VRAM which is not enough to even enable MPE GPU acceleration at all. The Quadro 2000D does have 192 CUDA cores but is held back by its 128-bit memory bus (although the RAM used in the Quadro 2000D is DDR5, like the GeForce GTS 450 that the Quadro 2000(D) is based on).
Randall Leong is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network