Don't want Encore to Re-encoded files from TMPGE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 24th, 2012, 09:49 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
Don't want Encore to Re-encoded files from TMPGE

I'm using TMPGE to encode standard def video as MPEG-2, no higher 4,000 constant bitrate, Multiplexed. When I imported it into Encore CS5 it re-encodes it.

Is it re-encoding because of a setting in Encore or TMPGE? I've included links to screen caps to show you what I'm seeing.

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a3...caps/TMPGE.jpg

http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a3...aps/encore.jpg
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 06:13 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Don't want Encore to Re-encoded files from TMPGE

I use elementary settings, Encore never re-encodes.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2012, 08:28 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
Re: Don't want Encore to Re-encoded files from TMPGE

thx I'll give "Elementary" setting a try.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012, 09:20 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 624
Re: Don't want Encore to Re-encoded files from TMPGE

Hi Pete,

Good advice from Ann. To expand on that, use "Elementary (Video+Audio)" specifically. This should result in an .m2v video clip and .wav audio file (uncompressed).

What you are doing right now is "multiplexing" the audio and video together into a single mpeg clip, and if you notice the audio settings in your panel, you are highly compressing the audio as MPEG-1 at 128Kbps.

While most DVD players can handle the MPEG audio, they are not required to by DVD spec - they only need support PCM (wav) and Dolby (which is the default encode setting in Encore, at 192Kbps.)

So what is happening when you bring the muliplexed file into Encore is that it first must DeMux, or separate, the video and audio, thereby forcing a re-encode of both. In Encore, you can use "Import > As Timeline" and just grab both clips and they will come in together. Or you can manually import each as Assets and drag to timeline, your choice. Then when you Build the project, the video should NOT get transcoded, and just the audio will be (quickly) transcoded to Dolby Digital. This is high-quality, coming straight from the uncompressed wav and not being compressed twice.

Note that the .m2v and .wav files combined might seem too big to fit the DVD, but Dolby compresses the audio much smaller. While 2 hours of .wav might be over 1GB, the Dolby file is maybe 200mb.

How long is your video? The 3000 setting is a very low quality, suitable for almost 3 hours of video! If your program is really that long, you will benefit from 2-Pass VBR encoding. A good rule of thumb is 560/minutes=data rate. For instance 560/120=4.66 and I just round down a bit to allow for overhead of menus and such, so 4.5 is a good choice. In any event, don't exceed 8000.

Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012, 08:25 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,551
Re: Don't want Encore to Re-encoded files from TMPGE

I didn't come up with a definitive answer. Encore in some instances will accept a multiplex mpg2 without transcoding and sometimes its wants to transcode it. In TMPGe the "DVD Mpeg2" preset worked with more success even though the "Generic Mpeg2" preset seemed to use the same setting (both used system multiplex). I'd imagine Elementary would also have a great chance of Encore not transcoding it. Funny thing is today I was exporting a movie from Premiere as mpeg 2 and Encore wanted to transcode that. Point being, its a big waste of time and degrades the quality when Encore re-encodes a long movie.

As far as the bit rate is concerned this is depo work where there in little no motion going on. A person is being interviewed in front of neutral background. Under these conditions a low bit rate still yields acceptable results.
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25th, 2012, 09:34 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Don't want Encore to Re-encoded files from TMPGE

Perhaps in this instance, Tmpgenc changes the Matrix settings to suit for such a low bitrate.
And perhaps, Encore is being picky..

Just a guess.
But yeah, always elementary streams.
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network