Editing on Laptop & Desktop- HELP! - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2005, 04:48 AM   #16
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
What might be happening is that the Windows Security information on the files
does not allow you to read them on the other system. Are you loggin on to both
systems with the username "administrator" or with something else?

You can right-click on the the .pproj file and then select properties and check
the Security tab to see which permissions are being set on the file. It might
be needed to add some rights to the whole folder the project is in. Unfortunately
this can be tricky to do and it is hard to guide you in that matter without being
able to see what is going on with your system.

But you can at least look in that section to see if anything looks "off".

If you know someone who's (very) good with Windows and they know what
"NTFS permissions" mean (and do), then they should be able to help you out
in that department.

Good luck!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2005, 11:50 AM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aanarav Sareen
Unfortunately, no. Premiere Pro looks for the drive letter, instead of the folder categorization.
Hmmm, I just did a test. I copied a Premiere Pro project folder, which contains both the project assets and Premiere Pro project file, to a new location on another hard drive. I then moved the project folder on the old drive to another location to make sure the assets couldn't be loaded from the old location. Then I opened the Premiere Pro project file from the new location on the other hard drive. The project loaded just fine. I checked the properties for an asset, and sure enough, it was being loaded from the new location on the other hard drive. From this I can only conclude that the drive letter is not hardwired into the project file for an asset, unless it is located on a separate hard drive from the project file.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2005, 11:52 AM   #18
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jun Tang
Hey Christopher,
I mean the link work. but fixing the problem it did not as yoda would say.
Well, I'm sorry about that. I hope you get the problem sorted out some way.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network