Edit trouble in CS3 after Canon XF300 firmware update at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 13th, 2012, 08:55 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,860
Edit trouble in CS3 after Canon XF300 firmware update

Hi,

I am using the CS3 production premium suite, and after upgrading the firmware in my Canon XF300 and also a needed upgrade to latest version of the Canon XF Utility software, I am experiencing some difficulties with the editing.

Workflow:
1. Using Canon XF Utility to import files to the computer hdd.
2. Cineform HD Link: Convert the MXF files into Cineform AVI.
3. Import the folder of the converted Cineform avi-files into Premiere Pro CS3.
4. Edit (here is where the problem is)

Problem:
As soon as I add any effects or transitions (except for the dissolve transition) to any clip on the timeline, Premiere will no longer play that clip. Only a black screen and a red X in the top left corner of the player window.
But I am still able to export the edited sequence, including any effects.

Reinstalling all affected software (XF Utility, Cineform HD Link, and the CS3 suite), has not solved the problem.

Has anyone else experienced any similar issues?
Any tips to solve this?
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2012, 12:54 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,860
Re: Edit trouble in CS3 after Canon XF300 firmware update

Update:
I believe I have narrowed it down to Premiere CS3 conflicting with the version 1.2 of Canon XF Utility software and/or the Canon XF300 firmware update producing some slightly changed MXF files compared to before the upgrade?

Downloaded the trial of Premiere CS6 today, and it works perfectly fine with both MXF files and Cineform avi-files.
I guess this means it's about time for an upgrade.


Still noone else who has experienced this issue with Canon XF300 and Premiere CS3?
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 07:26 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Edit trouble in CS3 after Canon XF300 firmware update

CS3 was not designed to handle footage from a XF300.
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2012, 08:01 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,860
Re: Edit trouble in CS3 after Canon XF300 firmware update

Ann,
I am aware of that. So I always use Cineform HDlink to convert the original MXF files to Cineform avi, and then import these avi-files into Premiere CS3.

After upgrading the Canon XF Utility software and the XF300 firmware, Premiere CS3 no longer handle editing of the Cineform avi-files.
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network