Working on older projects in CS6 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 13th, 2012, 11:40 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 146
Working on older projects in CS6

As I'm sitting here waiting for my copy of CS6 to ship from Adobe, I started to wonder what the state of backwards compatibility is.

When you open a project that was started in CS5 or CS5.5 in CS6, how does it work? One of the big questions deals with nested multi-cam sequences. Since CS5/5.5 only support 4 and the new one supports more, if you nested sequences before, how will they open.

I have a few edits going on right now and I'm thinking they should be finished before I upgrade.


Benjamin Maas Fifth Circle Audio Signal Hill, CA
Benjamin Maas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2012, 04:01 PM   #2
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,092
Re: Working on older projects in CS6

Nobody's going to fault you for finishing your projects before doing a software upgrade. Can't go wrong by staying with what you aleardy know will work.

That said, I can report that I have opened a copy of a CS5.5 multicam project file in CS6 and it all went perfectly smoothly. Can't remember if it prompted to save to a new version or not, as has been the case with previous upgrades. To be honest, opening it in CS6 was really meant to be a quick check but as soon as I started editing in CS6, I didn't want to go back to 5.5. The new interface and trim functionalities are just that much better in 6.

If you're eager to try CS6, just save a separate copy of your project file and use that. If for some reason you run into a glitch, just go back to editing your original copy of the project in 5.5...but I'll be kind of surprised if you will need or want to go back.
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2012, 04:46 PM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kentish Town, London, UK
Posts: 150
Re: Working on older projects in CS6

When you open a CS5.5 project in CS6 it tells you that you're opening a project made with a previous version of Premiere and insists that you save the new project with a new name.

I've had no issues with opening CS4, CS5 and CS5.5 projects in CS6.

One thing to note is that when you do open your old projects on CS6 it keeps the program layout from the older version. If you want to use the CS6 default layout you have to go window-> workspace -> editing and choose the default rather than the CS5.5 option.

Enjoy CS6. It's great!
Mark Morreau is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network