Mac disables audio... at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 18th, 2012, 12:45 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 270
Mac disables audio...

Hello, all??
Please help... my Mac Pro (mid 2010) with 8 core, 20GB ram with Lion won't play audio. it's greyed out, and volume control shows cross with circle. I did earphone jack in & out method, resetting PRM, restarting, nothing works. Also Audio MIDI crashes when I try to open... what the hell do i do now? not to mention I can't afford not being able to edit at this time... also, Video from youtube or Vimeo won't play more than 2 seconds (even though it's full loaded).
Any known solutions for this? I have googled a lot for last a few hours, but nothing seems fixing it.
Thanks in advance for tips!!!

J.J. Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2012, 08:14 PM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: Mac disables audio...

fwiw, the anti-virus outfit Comodo, Pro version has a 'talk to a certified technician' button.

30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 12:47 AM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vernon, BC. Canada
Posts: 111
Re: Mac disables audio...

Try searching Apple Discussions or log in to ask a question.

Back-up everything right away if you haven't already. If this isn't something obvious you've overlooked in the sound output tab of the sound preference pane for example, you may be looking at an OS reinstall.

I hope they can help you out over at Apple Discussions.
Jordan Hooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 02:05 AM   #4
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Re: Mac disables audio...

Hi this has happened to me on my Mac Pro 2008 3,1 Lion 10.7.4 after installing the trial of Premiere Pro CS6. Volume control grey, unable to change preferences, no system sounds. However I noticed that when I played a timeline in Premiere I had sound as normal.

I reinstalled Lion 10.7.2 from my pen drive and now everything has returned to normal.

Don't know what caused the problem, whether it was the upgrade to 10.7.4 or a problem with CS6.

Hope this helps.
Neil Coldrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2012, 05:06 PM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Columbus USA
Posts: 254
Re: Mac disables audio...

10.7.4 is VERY buggie and has created many problems with previously existing applications.

Other examples of known problems include

- QuickTime 7 Pro not being able to Loop playback.

- Selecting Copy Image results in the image URL being copied and not the image.
Ed Roo is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:18 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network