CS 5.5 with 120gb SSD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 30th, 2012, 05:02 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 292
CS 5.5 with 120gb SSD

I have Windows 7 Pro and Premiere installed on this SSD. It has only 15 GB free. There must be some large hidden files. Any suggestions to reduce usage on my C Drive?
Greg Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2012, 10:47 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 185
Re: CS 5.5 with 120gb SSD

Could be lots of things. Here's a place to start.

Guide to Freeing up Disk Space under Windows 7 - Scott Hanselman

Specifically related to Adobe, most of the apps have cache files and/or a database. Each project can have preview files which could be on the system drive. Check Premiere Preferences -> Media section to see what's going on there.

GL
Kawika Ohumukini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2012, 03:29 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 292
Re: CS 5.5 with 120gb SSD

I have made changes to accommodate this small SSD. My advice is to purchase a MUCH larger one if you are doing video editing.
Greg Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2012, 03:54 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 185
Re: CS 5.5 with 120gb SSD

I have a 120GB SSD and CS6 Production Premium on Win7 and I've got 50GB free. It's not hard to keep the system drive clean. Cheers
Kawika Ohumukini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2012, 01:15 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: York, England
Posts: 502
Re: CS 5.5 with 120gb SSD

Shift your page file and,as Kawika suggests, your Adobe media cache and database onto other drives.

Move your Documents, e-mails, etc. from your user folder on C: to another drive.
Alan Craven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2012, 12:50 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: CS 5.5 with 120gb SSD

However, the more RAM you have, the bigger your swap and hibernate files will be. I have 32 gigs of ram, and it also takes a toll on my SSD. Unless you are willing to work from a slower drive,
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2012, 08:25 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Re: CS 5.5 with 120gb SSD

Or unless you're willing to disable hibernate as per Kawika's link.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network