Old Error msg. but new to me.. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 28th, 2012, 12:18 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Rosemary Beach, Florida
Posts: 199
Old Error msg. but new to me..

Using CS4 Premiere Pro and all of a sudden I've started getting an error message that seems to have been around for years. (not for me)
When I try to import a .mov file into a project I get the following error:
" The importer reported a generic error". Of course it will not import the mov file

I've been importing .mov files into PP projects for over 2 years now and all of a sudden I get this error msg.

I searched the net and it was suggested that I needed to "repair the functional content" of Premiere Pro. It seems the only way to do this is to uninstall CS4. I did that and reinstalled it. Didn't solve the problem. I have the latest update for QuickTime also.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Tom Blizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2012, 12:28 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 85
Re: Old Error msg. but new to me..

Most errors with mov files are due to outdated versions of QuickTime. Completely uninstall QT, restart your computer, download and install the newest version of QT, restart computer again, and then open PPro and try importing the mov file again.

Hope that helps.
Kevin Currie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2012, 12:50 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Rosemary Beach, Florida
Posts: 199
Re: Old Error msg. but new to me..

Thanks Kevin for the suggestion. I uninstalled and reinstalled the newest version of QuickTime, but that did not help. Any other ideas?? Anyone??

One thing that might have caused it,, maybe,.... I downloaded CS6 a few weeks ago and have since uninstalled it. However, when I was using it, it also would NOT let me import .mov files. Strange.
Tom Blizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2012, 01:04 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: upper hunter, australia
Posts: 1,368
Re: Old Error msg. but new to me..

try rolling BACK qt to an earlier version rather than a later one. i found 7.6.2 seemed to work well....
__________________
www.lesliewand.com.au
Leslie Wand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 28th, 2012, 12:57 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Rosemary Beach, Florida
Posts: 199
Re: Old Error msg. but new to me..

Thanks.... tried that too. I had high hopes, but it didn't help.
Strange, this has worked for the past two years and now, all of a sudden, it won't import the same .mov files.
Tom Blizzard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network