Stupid Upgrade Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 3rd, 2012, 11:10 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 124
Stupid Upgrade Question

Hi All,
We are about to upgrade from CS3 to CS6.
CS6 will be installed on a new dedicated editing workstation and would like to keep the install as clean as possible.
Our question is if we purchase the CS6 upgrade rather than re-buying the whole suite, can we install it on the new machine without installing our previous CS3 suite first?
In other words will the install work with just inputting the CS3 license number?
Sorry for the stupid question but thought we'd ask before proceeding blindly!
Thanks!

Jay Webster/WPI NY
__________________
Jay Webster
WPI/NY
Jay Webster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2012, 11:39 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Yes, yes. No need to install CS3 first.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2012, 12:09 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 124
Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Thanks so very much Harm.
Coming from you we feel confident with the upgrade process.
On another note, I wonder if you would like to comment on your opinion of HP 8760 Mobile workstation as a support machine to our desktop. We are considering it as an addition with the promotional upgrade to 12 GB ram.

Thanks again!
__________________
Jay Webster
WPI/NY
Jay Webster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2012, 12:17 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Well, which configuration of the 8760w are you considering?

IMHO only the most expensive version of the 8760W, the one with an i7-2860QM CPU and a Quadro 3000M GPU that costs $3,000, is at all suitable for anywhere close to serious video editing with Premiere Pro CS6. The only other configuration of the 8760w that's equipped with an NVidia GPU, a $2,500 version, has only a dual-core CPU. The other three configurations of the 8760w use AMD GPUs that cannot use MPE GPU acceleration at all in Windows.

And even that most expensive version of the 8760w is three to four times slower than a fast i7 desktop PC.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2012, 12:28 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 124
Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Hi Randall,
Yes we mean the 8760w with the Quadro 3000m & i7..although don't know if it is the i7-2860QM CPU
However the price we were quoted was $2489, so I guess that means it is only the dual core?
The HP Model # is B2A82UT.
__________________
Jay Webster
WPI/NY
Jay Webster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2012, 12:35 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Yes, that version has only the i7-2640M. Some mobile i7s, such as the i7-2640M, are only dual-core. In fact, the i7-2640M is just a mobile i5 (all mobile i5s are only dual-core) with 1MB more L3 cache (4MB versus 3MB).
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2012, 12:44 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 124
Re: Stupid Upgrade Question

Thanks Randall, good save! Any suggestions on a workable laptop? Having trouble finding one that still has firewire (yeah, we still use it )..etc
__________________
Jay Webster
WPI/NY
Jay Webster is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network