can I continue to edit once sequence is sent to Media Encoder? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 23rd, 2012, 12:33 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 89
can I continue to edit once sequence is sent to Media Encoder?

In Premiere CS6, I'm looking to export multiple versions of my sequence both with audio using various processes and unprocessed. Once I send a sequence to media encoder, can I continue to edit that sequence without affecting the state of the sequence that I just sent to media encoder (this is all before the encoding starts- I'm assuming once the process begins, it gathers all the info it needs together).

Or, do I have to send one version to encoder and wait for that encoding to begin before making edits to the sequence to make a different version?
Denez McAdoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 12:41 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 89
Re: can I continue to edit once sequence is sent to Media Encoder?

... as an update, I just noticed that closing a project in Premiere that is currently encoding in Media Encoder, is ok, but then opening a new project in Premiere, causes Media Encoder to crash.

This is a bit of a bottle neck.
Denez McAdoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 03:48 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Re: can I continue to edit once sequence is sent to Media Encoder?

I'd be more inclined to make a copy of a sequence and carry out further edits on it, keeping the original just in case. Or nest the original sequence in a new one, and apply effects etc. if they're simple.

It shouldn't crash though. AFAIK, Premiere takes a copy of the project and saves it in your temporary files folder (or whatever the Mac equivalent is). As long as you don't actually change or delete source files it shouldn't crash or complain.
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 11:36 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Re: can I continue to edit once sequence is sent to Media Encoder?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Denez McAdoo View Post
...Once I send a sequence to media encoder, can I continue to edit that sequence without affecting the state of the sequence that I just sent to media encoder (this is all before the encoding starts...

Or, do I have to send one version to encoder and wait for that encoding to begin before making edits to the sequence to make a different version?
I don't think you can do that. I'd follow Mike's suggestion and make iterations of your sequences - there's no overhead with that.

Regarding the crash - you might want to take it up in Adobe's forum and support.
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2012, 02:56 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: can I continue to edit once sequence is sent to Media Encoder?

You can edit without affecting what's getting encoded. Premiere creates a temporary project file and uses it to guide Encoder, which allows you to work in your current project.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network