stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 10th, 2012, 03:35 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5

I have just moved over to Adobe CS5 from Vegas 10 and would like to know the best app. to stabilise hand held shots using adobe premiere pro 5
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2012, 06:11 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Re: stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5

proDAD Mercalli, hands down.
Frank Glencairn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2012, 06:23 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5

Can anyone tell me if the mecalli V2 stabiliser will work with Premiere pro 5. I have CS5 which does not include After Effects. I've been in touch with ProDad and they tell me it works with CS5 and after effects. I don't understand the answer. I've told them that my CS5 does not include after effects. Does the product work with Premiere Pro 5 editing programme as a plug in without having to use After Effects.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 01:51 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Re: stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5

I used Mercalli with Premiere Pro CS5, no problem at all. I think they mean it works in both AfterEffects and Premiere, not that it needs AE.

Try downloading the trial to be sure.
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2012, 03:01 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5

MIKE. Was it Mercalli V2 you used with CS5 and was it a plug in or standalone version and did you use it with the Premiere pro 5 programme part of CS5. Thanks for your info
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 11:32 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5

Roy
I use the plug-in version of Mercalli V2 for Premiere Pro.
It installs into (plugs into) both PPro CS5.x and CS6 (which I am currently using)
You access it from within PPro Effects Panel, just like any other PPro effect (Fast Color Corrector, etc., etc.)
You simply drag the Mercalli effect onto the target clip on the timeline & the Mercalli control window opens automatically.
90% of the time I get great results just using the default settings
Mercalli is magic...
You will love it :)
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 11:45 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Re: stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5

Roy,

I used the plugin version of Mercalli 2 in Premiere Pro CS5.

I never saw the need for the standalone version (even though I think I got it as part of my download). I don't use After Effects, and it was so handy just dragging the Mercalli effect onto a clip.
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2012, 09:01 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5

Thanks every one for your input, I am going to give Mercalli V2 a trial run. All your info has led to me to believing it will work with my set up. Do any of you know of a good visual tutorial on how to use the stabiliser? Thanks again
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2012, 03:20 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 325
Re: stabiliser for CS5 premier pro 5

I have now downloaded a trial of the Mercalli V2 stabiliser and am very happy to report that it works well with Adobe Premiere CS5. I am over the moon with the results. It is so simple to use for me because most of my hand held shots are ,although unsteady, are still watchable so I can use the stabiliser in its default mode. I can't see any loss of resolution when the before and after shots are played on a split screen. I suppose some nick pickers would see a very slight difference. The amount of zoom used is very small indeed and is not noticable unless you deliberately look for it. Any way all important action should be centred in the shot. I am impressed with how hand held pans are smoothed out. This is the best stabiliser I have come across yet and so again I thank all contributors who advised me on this forum.
Roy Alexander is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:24 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network