CS6 Export at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2012, 03:47 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
CS6 Export

Hi, i am working my way through CS6 slowly, i am having one problem , thats is on export, when i used FCP i could do a full wedding, the go file export current settings, and out put the HD QT file,ProRes Lt (to Keep for Backup) it only took about 20mins for a 1hr wedding. Now is CS6 if i try to export something HD QT File its wanting to take 5 hrs . This can't be right, ?? can it. Or should i export a HQ Vimeo setting and Keep it on File ?

The only time i need to re use the master HD QT File, is if i have deleted the original footage , and the bride called me 2 months later and lets me know she wants something fixed or cut out. I normally just open a new FCP sequence, and drop the HD File onto the time line, fix what i need to fix, and re burn her a new DVD.
I hope that makes sense, sorry to bug you all about it but i can't seem to work out how or which way to do this.

Notes, i am not using Previews or Maximum Render setting
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2012, 10:27 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Re: CS6 Export

Also do i need to render the Red sections before i send to Media Encoder
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2012, 08:55 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 89
Re: CS6 Export

try going through with the export. I've had many situations (in a lot of programs including FCP) where the render time is estimated at 3 hour or so, when in fact 30 minutes later, the render is done.

If it actually takes 3 hours, then you have a problem.
Denez McAdoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 12:28 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
Re: CS6 Export

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bale View Post
Also do i need to render the Red sections before i send to Media Encoder
No, the rendering is for playback while you're editing. AME will do whatever rendering is needed when you export.
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 04:55 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Re: CS6 Export

OK, I ll have a look.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2012, 06:46 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 20
Re: CS6 Export

Just a guess ... It might depend on what kind of files you're editing. In FCP I edit Pro Res files. Therefore to export to Quicktime (if export settings are set to ProRes), it's fast since there is no conversion. However, in Premiere I have been editing the h.264 files. If I output to ProRes, Premiere (or Media Encoder) has to convert them.

Also, 5 hours to render a one hour video actually seems pretty fast. I imagine it would take just as long to convert it to Vimeo quality.
Tom Abray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2012, 04:03 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Re: CS6 Export

Hi Tom, yes spot on, Vimeo settings is long as well.,this is the only think that bugs me, the time it takes, when i am so use to FCP, and ProRes, i am going to try a do a All XDCAM EX Time line next and see how long it takes. There will be not transcoding needed.

Also is there a way to add a watermark logo in adobe media encoder, saves adding to the time line.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.

Last edited by Robert Bale; September 26th, 2012 at 04:58 PM.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network