Hacking your pc to accept more RAM? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 20th, 2012, 12:26 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Hacking your pc to accept more RAM?

Ive recently formatted my laptop and upgraded it to Window 7 Ultimate 64bits. My laptop is supposed to accept a maximum of 8GB RAM. I was wondering if there is anyway to change this via hack/system change so that I can install more than that.
__________________
www.rafael-lopes.com
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 01:01 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Deep South, U.S.
Posts: 1,380
Re: Hacking your pc to accept more RAM?

There is a a hardware limitation on you laptop for the amount RAM. Also, the operating system you use will limit your maximum RAM. I am currently updating my PC to be dual boot. With Vista 32-bit I am limited to 4GB of RAM that can be used. With Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit my PC will accept up to 16GB.

Memory Limits for Windows Releases
__________________
Mark
videos: http://vimeo.com/channels/3523
Mark Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 01:10 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Re: Hacking your pc to accept more RAM?

Ive just been told that this is a motherboard limitation. So Im stuck with a maximum of 8GB.
BTW, right now I have 6GB...is it worth it to upgrade to 8GB?
__________________
www.rafael-lopes.com
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2012, 01:38 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Re: Hacking your pc to accept more RAM?

One more question. Is it worth it to change the virtual memory size after Ive upgrade the RAM to 8GB? I have a hybrid HD (Momentus XT 750GB) as my main HDD.
__________________
www.rafael-lopes.com
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 12:25 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: Hacking your pc to accept more RAM?

Premiere Pro is RAM hungry
In my own experience, 8 GB was good, 16 GB was better, 24 GB is actually better yet.
The need for RAM will obviously vary with the type of project, effects, layers, formats, etc., but it clearly seems that more is better.
RE virtual memory- it is supposed to be sized in relation to the amount of RAM onboard.
So, if you go up in RAM, you should, in theory, increase the virtual memory.
I don't know for a fact how much this would actually matter for using PPro.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2012, 02:20 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saint Cloud, Florida
Posts: 1,043
Re: Hacking your pc to accept more RAM?

Get the ram, every drop is worth it. Leave VM setting alone.
__________________
www.facebook.com/projectspecto
Marco Wagner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network