Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2013, 08:18 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 259
Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem.

I have tried to help her but for the LIFE of me I am stumped (but I am new to CS6 just upgraded). Here is her question C&P'ed from an Adobe forum:

I'm a new user, but from what I understand I am doing this correctly, I had a friend come over who is familiar with the program and she couldn't figure it out.

I am trying to insert a series(about 10) jpg images from my d800 camera into my timeline. that works fine. I have tried this full size, fit to frame, and I have manually resized, I have also tried a tiff file just to see. Once the jpg is in the timeline, it shows up black in the project window.

I rendered it to see what would happen, and htey were there, but it's really frustrating not having them there now while I"m trying to put the movie together to see if they fit.

Also, I just tried to adjust the brightness through effects on a video clip, and then after doing that the video clip plays mostly black with a bit of strobing.

Does anyone know what is going on? I"m super frustrated and would appreciate any guidance available.

Any advice??
Kelsey Emuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2013, 09:12 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Neenah, WI
Posts: 547
Re: Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem.

What sort of configuration is the computer? This sounds like it could be a display card or display card driver being a bit finnicky...if the system is also limited on RAM, redrawing the JPEGs may be more work than the computer can do since the scaling on the stills is probably intense.

I wonder how it would work if you loaded the images into Photoshop and decrease their size (I assume they're quite large).
__________________
TimK
Kolb Productions
Tim Kolb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 08:42 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 259
Re: Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem.

Not sure...but what you are saying makes sense. I once had a video card issue and it only affected my project window! Will pass it on! Thanks!
Kelsey Emuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 09:46 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 369
Re: Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem.

You say you're new to CS6, did you update after you installed it? The versions on the Adobe website and on discs are older. I can bring full size D800 jpeg, png or photoshop files into the timeline and they all appear in the project window.
Duane Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 12:30 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 625
Re: Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem.

Probably not the cause in this case, but make sure the .jpegs use RGB color, CYMK will show up black in Premiere.

Also, if the stills are super-huge, try scaling them down before import, such as 1920x1080 for HD.

As suggested, make sure CS6 is up to date, for PC will be 6.0.3 and 6.0.2 for Mac.

Thanks
__________________
Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 01:23 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 259
Re: Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duane Adam View Post
You say you're new to CS6, did you update after you installed it? The versions on the Adobe website and on discs are older. I can bring full size D800 jpeg, png or photoshop files into the timeline and they all appear in the project window.
I'm not the one having the problem...a friend is. I mentioned being new to 6 because due to my newness (I have only used CS3) I can't seem to help her??
Kelsey Emuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 03:55 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Zealand, Rapaura (near Blenheim)
Posts: 434
Re: Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem.

+1 for what Jeff says. Full res stills can put a strain on PP IME. I tend to resize to about 120% of the frame size, because that makes sure I don't try to pan & scan to far and too fast because that does not look nice. And it also limits the strain on system resources.

I didn't know about the thing with CMYK, but agree colour space is important. A wee bit off topic, but I used to moan about the competition secretary at our camera club, because I was convinced he'd buggered up the projector/laptop calibration, and my pictures used to look flat and under saturated. Turns out I had been submitting my pictures in Adobe RGB, when the spec clearly asks for sRGB. Once I'd got onside with that, my pictures looked the same at the camera club as they do on my computer monitor.
__________________
Stills at: www.flickr.com/photos/trevor-dennis/

Last edited by Trevor Dennis; February 27th, 2013 at 01:16 AM. Reason: typo
Trevor Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2013, 04:38 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 369
Re: Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelsey Emuss View Post
I'm not the one having the problem...a friend is. I mentioned being new to 6 because due to my newness (I have only used CS3) I can't seem to help her??
I just tried dropping an AI file in CMYK into the timeline and it appears as a preview in the project window and on the preview screen. All RGB files except RAW appear regardless of size on my version. Until your friend confirms being on the latest version she may be spinning her wheels.
Duane Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2013, 08:45 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 259
Re: Asking for a friend Premiere Pro CS6 problem.

Thanks everyone...she is going to upgrade the video card and see what happens!
Kelsey Emuss is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network