Upgrade to Production Premium CS6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 15th, 2013, 01:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 69
Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

I want to upgrade from Production Premium CS5.5 to CS6 but what do I do with all the CS 5.5 programs I have
on my computer like After Effects, Audition, Photo Shop etc? Will CS 6.0 simply overwrite them or do I have to uninstall them? Thanks.

Larry
Larry Kropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2013, 04:31 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

Larry,

If you have finished all your projects in CS5.5, you can uninstall it before you install CS6. It is always a risk to uninstall an older version when a newer one is already installed. No, CS6 will not overwrite CS5.5 and they can happily coexist on the same disk. I have three different version of the Master Collection installed on one of my systems and never had any problems.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2013, 04:02 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 69
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

I'm thinking of leaving CS5.5 on and just installing CS 6.0. However, am I using disc space that I s/be
saving for other projects? If I do uninstall CS5.5 first will CS 6.0 still load ok since this is a upgrade to
CS5.5 so would it still have to be on the computer so CS6.0 can see it so it knows it is an upgrade to CS5.5?
Larry Kropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2013, 10:09 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 369
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

Isn't 6.5 available in a few weeks?
Duane Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2013, 10:15 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Reading, PA USA and Athens, Greece
Posts: 269
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Kropp View Post
I'm thinking of leaving CS5.5 on and just installing CS 6.0. However, am I using disc space that I s/be
saving for other projects? If I do uninstall CS5.5 first will CS 6.0 still load ok since this is a upgrade to
CS5.5 so would it still have to be on the computer so CS6.0 can see it so it knows it is an upgrade to CS5.5?
just cs5 to cs6 PP/AE or full suite?

I have CS5 suite installed on secondary editing machine with CS6 premiere pro installed; works fine. newer machine i uninstalled cs5 and installed cs6 suite. plugins still need manually moved or reinstalled, but otherwise its pretty easy.

if you are scared something bad will happen, clone your boot/os/install drive and save it, install the new stuff and if there are crazy problems, you have the cloned drive to work from. i always keep a cloned 'safe' boot/install/os drive on a spare disk for these reasons.
Panagiotis Raris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2013, 05:37 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: New Zealand, Rapaura (near Blenheim)
Posts: 434
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duane Adam View Post
Isn't 6.5 available in a few weeks?
I bet that had a few people rushing to Google.
__________________
Stills at: www.flickr.com/photos/trevor-dennis/
Trevor Dennis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2013, 08:57 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,121
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

The size of the programme files is trivial compared to the huge size of the video files, so I's not even worry about it. If your disk space is tight, get bigger ones!
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 02:17 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 445
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

You can install both on the same machine. 6.0 doesn't overwrite 5.5 (Thank you Adobe!). When you finally feel like uninstalling 5.5, you can without it affecting 6.0. Adobe has changed their license policies, due to the fact that you no longer need to order a separate license. Your 6.0 license will show as MP for Multi platform.

This allows you to continue to use 5.5. projects with no problem, until you *need* and want to upgrade.

I upgraded to 6.0 last fall, and I've just completed tearing down an older Mac Pro, migrating it's contents and the contents of a Mac Book Pro 13" to a MBP 15". So I'm familiar with these issues as of this week.
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 08:02 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

< 6.0 doesn't overwrite 5.5 (Thank you Adobe!) >

Every version is a seperate one.
A new version has never overwritten an older version.
5.5 does not overwrite 5.0 etc.
An update is a different matter. 6.01, 6.02, 6.03.
They are cumulative.
__________________
ACE Premiere Pro CC
Adobe Community Professional
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2013, 09:30 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 69
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

So if I understand this correctly I can buy 6.0 now and install it. However, I can still continue to use 5.5 while I learn and become comfortable with 6.0. Meaning I can be doing one project in 6.0 and another in 5.5.
Then when I am totally comfortable with 6.0 I can delete 5.5 but I will still be able to open 5.5 projects in 6.0. If this is all correct this would be perfect!

Larry
Larry Kropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2013, 11:48 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 445
Re: Upgrade to Production Premium CS6

Yes. I just have done this for the last six months. No problem whatsoever.
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network