1080i in a widescreen SD sequence at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2013, 05:18 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bay City, Michigan
Posts: 585
1080i in a widescreen SD sequence

I have a sequence with using both widescreen SD footage, and 1080i footage that I'm zooming in on - up to 100%.

but when playing back on DVD, the SD footage looks sharp, but the 1080i footage looks a bit ragged.

is there some way I can handle the 1080 differently that will help?

for instance, would doing the slow zoom / resize in After Effects help? or is there a particular codec that can optimize the quality?

thanks
Robert Bobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2013, 04:12 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: 1080i in a widescreen SD sequence

The chances are your SD footage is less compressed from the start, so comparing them at 100% might show better quality for SD. Also, 1080i footage most likely gets deinterlaced, and loses resolution in the process.

You also need to make sure that Maximum Render Quality is on to get the best resize. If you're on CS5.5, there might also be an issue of buggy export straight to MPEG-2 DVD if the fields are mixed in the timeline. Try exporting to uncompressed first, and then convert to MPEG-2.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2013, 07:16 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bay City, Michigan
Posts: 585
Re: 1080i in a widescreen SD sequence

thanks - I'll check that stuff out.
Robert Bobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 11:32 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bay City, Michigan
Posts: 585
Re: 1080i in a widescreen SD sequence

I checked the Maximum Render Quality and it made a huge difference! WHY wouldn't "ON" be the default setting, and allow a lesser quality if desired????

Thanks for the tip ~
Robert Bobson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2013, 02:39 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 626
Re: 1080i in a widescreen SD sequence

Max Render helps with scaling, but takes longer to render, therefore optional.

Regarding the original issue, using HD clips in SD sequence - do you have "Scale To Frame Size" enabled in Prefs? That is fine for using HD clips in SD sequence, UNLESS you want to use Motion effect to "zoom in" on the clip at all. In that case, right-click the HD clip and make sure that "Scale to Frame" is NOT checked. Then the HD clip will appear as actual pixels and you can scale from there as needed. If auto scale is on, clip is already reduced to SD, then blowing up from there if using Scale in Motion effect, better to start with original HD resolution for zooming/panning work.

Thanks
__________________
Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network