Time code burn in disappears in my timeline at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2013, 12:03 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 160
Time code burn in disappears in my timeline

Hello peers,
I have been editing a few projects in Premiere CS6 and sending the drafts to my client with a burn-in timecode for review. As of late, any projects that I've used the burn-in timecode have a problem where the burn-in time code disappears(all the numbers) leaving only the 'field symbol' floating there like a space egg.
The process I use to add the burn-in time code is:

- create an 'adjustment layer' > stretch it the length of the entire time line > add 'timecode' from effect panel.

It has worked fine until one day I open the projects and the time-code is gone, I've seen only a couple of forum lines elsewhere mentioning the problem with CS5, that is a bug, etc...No solution.

I'm editing on a iMac late 2012 3.4Ghz through an external HD.

Thank you in advance for any leads!
Erick Munari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2013, 01:39 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kentish Town, London, UK
Posts: 157
Re: Time code burn in disappears in my timeline

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erick Munari View Post

- create an 'adjustment layer' > stretch it the length of the entire time line > add 'timecode' from effect panel.
Don't use an adjustment layer, create a new "Transparent Video" and add the timecode effect to that.
Mark Morreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2013, 02:55 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 160
Re: Time code burn in disappears in my timeline

I tried the transparent video also, totally bugged!
Erick Munari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2013, 03:13 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kentish Town, London, UK
Posts: 157
Re: Time code burn in disappears in my timeline

OK. This sounds like a display issue to me.

Do you have Mercury Playback Engine enabled? If so, what happens if you disable it, so you're working in software only mode?
Do you have the latest version of your display drivers installed? If not, then you should update them.

You have updated your CS6 to CS6.03 haven't you?
Mark Morreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2013, 08:27 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 160
Re: Time code burn in disappears in my timeline

Mark, first of all, thank you for taking the time to help me.
You hit the nail!! I open my projects on my laptop which is NOT Mercury Engine'd and burn-in time code is there! Outstanding deduction from your part.
Now, back to my iMac, I looked in the Nvidia page and the drive updates do not include a Mac version, even though my drive is on the list (GeForce 680MX), but drive updates are for Windows to Linux (!?!?).
My CS6 version is 6.0.2.
Erick
Erick Munari is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network