Update to Premiere Pro CC now available at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 10th, 2013, 01:38 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kentish Town, London, UK
Posts: 157
Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

Adobe have just released a point upgrade to Premiere Pro CC. If you're a subscriber the update'll appear in your Creative Cloud control panel, or in Premiere Pro if you go help-> updates...

Here's the blog post:
Premiere Pro CC July 2013 Update

And here's the features in more detail:
Adobe Premiere Pro Help | What's new in Premiere Pro CC | July 2013

Haven't seen a list of bug-fixes yet, but I know the Multicam one has been fixed.
Mark Morreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2013, 03:14 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

Is it just me, or is the "linked selection" option just wonderful? The ability to just select the audio or video in a clip on the timeline without having to first unlink it.

Sweet.
__________________
Irish Railway Videos on Youtube
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2013, 03:23 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kentish Town, London, UK
Posts: 157
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Beckett View Post
Is it just me, or is the "linked selection" option just wonderful? The ability to just select the audio or video in a clip on the timeline without having to first unlink it.
Well, of course you could always do that before for an individual clip:alt+clicking on the video or audio portion of it would select just that part of it.

But I agree, being able to do that for whole timeline is v. useful.

Here's another useful blog post:
What’s new in Premiere Pro CC and Adobe Media Encoder (v7.01) July 2013 DAV's TechTable
Mark Morreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2013, 11:21 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 445
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

I decided to upgrade Sony Vegas today rather than move to CC or upgrade 6.0. We'll see how it goes.
Yes, any improvement to dealing with the audio portion of the clips would be great. I just spent too much time in 6.0 after realizing that I hadn't gone to twin mono tracks when dumping into the timeline, and it appears there is no way after the fact to do this once you have added the clip to the timeline (and done a bunch of editing on it) Correct? Did they change that in CC? As I understand it I have to choose to change audio before adding it to the time line, though I can boost gain after it's on the line. This if true is very frustrating, as I've been able to choose to use right or left or combine both channels in Vegas at any point in time. I'm really liking Adobe's stability and some of it's features, but it's audio (without going out to Audition) seems quite primitive. Please prove me wrong. or is the new CC worth the monthly price tag for some new audio features?

Last edited by Al Bergstein; July 11th, 2013 at 12:23 AM.
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 11th, 2013, 12:12 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Antrim, Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,569
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Morreau View Post
Well, of course you could always do that before for an individual clip:alt+clicking on the video or audio portion of it would select just that part of it.
[/url]
Well there you go... I never knew about that shortcut. 5 years of Premiere Pro and I'm still learning new things about it!
__________________
Irish Railway Videos on Youtube
Mike Beckett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2013, 07:08 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 189
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Bergstein View Post
I decided to upgrade Sony Vegas today rather than move to CC or upgrade 6.0. We'll see how it goes.
Yes, any improvement to dealing with the audio portion of the clips would be great. I just spent too much time in 6.0 after realizing that I hadn't gone to twin mono tracks when dumping into the timeline, and it appears there is no way after the fact to do this once you have added the clip to the timeline (and done a bunch of editing on it) Correct? Did they change that in CC? As I understand it I have to choose to change audio before adding it to the time line, though I can boost gain after it's on the line. This if true is very frustrating, as I've been able to choose to use right or left or combine both channels in Vegas at any point in time. I'm really liking Adobe's stability and some of it's features, but it's audio (without going out to Audition) seems quite primitive. Please prove me wrong. or is the new CC worth the monthly price tag for some new audio features?
There's a workaround for that issue, just duplicate the stereo audio track and put "fill left" on one track and "fill right" on the other.
Zoran Vincic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2013, 12:54 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

I have not installed this CC version yet. If it is installed does the CS6 version remain installed as well? Thanks, Chuck
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2013, 04:52 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

Yes, the CC and CS6 applications are separate installs / uninstalls, as well as being specifically updated. The CC 7.01 update will not touch your copy of CS6.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2013, 11:38 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canyon Country, CA
Posts: 430
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete Bauer View Post
Yes, the CC and CS6 applications are separate installs / uninstalls, as well as being specifically updated. The CC 7.01 update will not touch your copy of CS6.
Thanks! The update worked fine.
Charles W. Hull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2013, 02:18 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

@ Al, you can change a clip's audio properties by clicking on the file in the clip browser, selecting clip > modify>audio, and making it whatever you want.

However, it doesn't update the clip on the timeline automatically. You have to replace the timeline version of the clip with the new one.

In the clip browser, doubleclick on the clip just modified to open it in the source window. Set an in point in that clip to match the in point of the clip on the timeline. Click on the clip in the time line, choose " replace clip from source window" and the modified clip will replace the original, but will keep all the effects and adjustments and keyframes made to the original. Sounds more complicated than it is, while admittedly not being as convenient as a direct change on the timeline is in other NLEs.

You can also use the match frame feature, read about it in the online help files....

Last edited by Battle Vaughan; July 14th, 2013 at 02:50 AM.
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2013, 02:12 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kabul, Afghanistan
Posts: 25
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

Anyone spent any time with Premiere Pro CC? Any bugs? Any major difference to CS6?
__________________
Currently training / ENG type stuff in Kabul, Afghanistan. Using Panasonic AG_HVX201AE cameras (not out of choice) but prefer my EX1. Challenging but stimulating work.
Ben Bruges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2013, 08:47 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Re: Update to Premiere Pro CC now available

Interpretation of RGB/Luma Curves is problematic, but apart from that it works perfectly for me.
__________________
Creative Impatience - The Solace of Simple Solutions. A few useful plugins for Adobe users, and my remarks on the tools and the craft in general.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network