Duplication/replication from Encore at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2013, 03:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 51
Duplication/replication from Encore

Hi All

I need 150 copies of a 1 hour long event video on DVD. I am trying to organise to send this to a company to do but am not sure what is the difference between duplication and replication?

Also, if I export my project from Encore as a master will most places be able to burn directly from that? I have a chapters and menu screen so really don't want it to lose anything in the burning process..

Thanks in advance!!!

Kind Regards
Diana
Diana Fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 03:58 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
Re: Duplication/replication from Encore

replication and duplication are terms used to differentiate a copy over a DVD-R (chemical process) ou DVD (physical process).
for small batch (under 250) DVD-R is cheaper because you do not need the master disc.
If you make a project with Encore and you check it is readable on a stand alone dvd player, there are good chances it will be accepted by replicators.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 06:15 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: Duplication/replication from Encore

Duplication of DVD is simply involves burning copies of the DVD just as you would on your computer.
This results in a DVD-R which technically should not be labeled with the "DVD Video" icon.
This is usually cost effective for the quantities you mentioned.
Replication involves making a glass master DVD stamp, which is used to stamp out large quantities of DVD quickly and accurately. This produces a DVD ROM and is labeled as "DVD Video"
Usually replication becomes cost effective in quantities of 1,000 or more.
Whichever facility you choose will tell you the best way to get what you need, and will let you know what sort of master file they require- often it is simply an image file (.iso) of your DVD.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2013, 09:47 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hamilton Ontario
Posts: 769
Re: Duplication/replication from Encore

Hey Diana...

Simply save the build out to an ISO image..
Duplication is the way to go for your needs. If you don't have a tower burner, then usually, somebody who does sporting events, or dance recitals should have the equipment to simply duplicate your original ISO image. Usually 10 discs at a time. Each ISO burn on a DVD-R shouldn't take more than 5 minutes.

Nothing gets lost in the process. It's a straightforward copy.
Peter Manojlovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2013, 01:59 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 51
Re: Duplication/replication from Encore

Thank you both!!

Another question.. If I build my DVD as normal in Encore is there anything specific I need to do to make it a Master?
Diana Fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2013, 02:02 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
Re: Duplication/replication from Encore

no, a DVD has no master feature, except if you are looking for protection (CSS encryption).
in that case you need to provide a special master, but it requires a special burner.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2013, 04:44 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Re: Duplication/replication from Encore

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diana Fisk View Post
Thank you both!!

Another question.. If I build my DVD as normal in Encore is there anything specific I need to do to make it a Master?
No. Either an ISO file or playable disc can be used as a master for duplication.

I used to write the software that ran both tower and automated high speed duplicators, included integrated printing, so I know what's needed and what's not ;) I use Encore to make ISO files and send them to duplicators via a network, but I could just as easily make playable discs and read them as masters.
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2013, 10:03 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hampshire, UK
Posts: 693
Re: Duplication/replication from Encore

The duplicators that we use accept a DVD-R to create their glass master. I just post it to them.

An ISO could be used if the files are small enough or you both have fast internet connections.
__________________
Marcus Durham
Media2u, Corporate Video Production For Your Business - http://www.media2u.co.uk
Marcus Durham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network