No audio in source playback - Adobe Premiere at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 4th, 2013, 12:49 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 51
No audio in source playback - Adobe Premiere

Hi There

I have been importing clips into Premiere lately and noticed that some audio isn't playing in the source window.

I have today imported four folders and all audio is working on three folders but not in one. The only difference I can see is how the folders are set up. I transfer the files straight from the SD card to my iMac. For some reason three of these have come in as a 'PRIVATE' AVCHD Content icon, whereas the final folder has transferred as a 'PRIVATE' folder that contains a 'PRIVATE' AVCHD Content icon as well as a 'SONY' Folder that contains a file type - Unix Executable File.

I hope all this means something to someone! I think another problem with the one folder that I am having trouble with is that it also cuts my clips at around the 11 minute mark.. If anyone has any tips on how I can reconfigure this so that it won't do so that would be appreciated!!

Thanks
Diana
Diana Fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2013, 05:32 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: No audio in source playback - Adobe Premiere

If you are using a Sony AVCHD camera, the most bulletproof method of importing the files to your HDD is to use the "Sony Play Memories" software app.
This application will reliably import into the folder of your choice any or all of the video footage files on the camera, or the card.
It will also preserve the original file names (which include the date shot), and it will stitch back together any files that exceeded the single clip size limit.
People do successfully drag & drop/copy & paste directly from the card or camera, but there can be glitches.
__________________
Bob

Last edited by Robert Young; December 5th, 2013 at 12:56 PM.
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2013, 07:19 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Re: No audio in source playback - Adobe Premiere

The Adobe-recommended way is to use the media browser to import, as it is able to find and assemble all the relevant files. This is particularly useful for AVCHD and XDCAM files.
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2013, 08:45 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: No audio in source playback - Adobe Premiere

Audio and Video glitches | AVCHD footage
__________________
ACE Premiere Pro CC
Adobe Community Professional
Ann Bens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network