How do I edit AVCHD footage on Premiere Pro 5.5 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 19th, 2014, 05:18 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 560
How do I edit AVCHD footage on Premiere Pro 5.5

The footage is from the Sony NX3 and its horribly choppy when editing / playback on Premiere Pro 5.5.

Maybe I need a faster computer or more RAM? (I have the Intel 8400 and 4 gigs of RAM)

Convert it to another format?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Right now, as I go through the editing, about every 5 seconds it becomes too choppy when I am playing back on the timeline.

Thanks!!
Silas Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 19th, 2014, 10:47 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tipperary, Ireland
Posts: 587
Re: How do I edit AVCHD footage on Premiere Pro 5.5

I have an i7-4770, not the fastest or greatest available but with 16 Gb RAM and a 1 Gb graphics card on board it runs anything i've had to edit so far!
Haven't tried any 4K stuff yet tho!

I'd imagine 4 Gb of RAM is not enough, also you don't say if you've got a dedicated graphics card or not?
but maybe a new system with plenty of RAM and a good graphics card is the solution, especially for AVCHD
__________________
http://www.robertcantwell.com
Rob Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2014, 06:05 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Re: How do I edit AVCHD footage on Premiere Pro 5.5

That CPU is way underpowered to handle AVCHD footage. It is 6 years old and has only 2 cores. In addition 4 GB is not enough by far. Time to upgrade...

For ideas, look at What kind of PC to use?
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2014, 01:04 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Posts: 936
Re: How do I edit AVCHD footage on Premiere Pro 5.5

Silas,

The only thing that will help your AVCHD editing performance, as Harm stated, would be to get yourself an entirely new computer system. This is because any upgrades to that old dual-core system would cost you much more money than the performance benefit justifies; in fact, you could spend thousands, if not tens of thousands, of dollars on that old rig and its overall performance would still be significantly slower than even a cheapo modern Intel i3-powered beginners system.

In other words, don't spend a dime for incremental upgrades on that old LGA 775 rig. Even a $10 upgrade would go to waste.
Randall Leong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 21st, 2014, 10:40 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Anna Illinois
Posts: 35
Re: How do I edit AVCHD footage on Premiere Pro 5.5

Bite the bullet and pick up an I7 with at least 12 gb of RAM. You'll be glad you did. Adobe has made massive strides in performance with the 2014 cc updates. You can have it all for $50 a month but it probably won't help your current plight.
Dave O'Melia is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network