multi edit with one computer? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 4th, 2014, 10:21 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England liverpool
Posts: 1,312
multi edit with one computer?

Instead of buying another computer to edit on whilst waiting for dvd to burn, can i edit from the same computer with prem pro cs6? steve
Steve Bleasdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2014, 04:48 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,125
Re: multi edit with one computer?

If the computer has enough RAM and processor power, it works fine - my current best machine can do editing and burn happily. My next best machine can't and will produce a nice shiny coaster if I try.

Just give it a try and see?
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2014, 05:26 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
Re: multi edit with one computer?

Not sure if ram and processing power have anything to do with burning the dvd? Most important is that the datatransfer between the harddrive and disc burner doesn't get interrupted, best is to place the dvd data that needs to be burned onto a dvd on a separate harddrive. If you place it on the same drive where you will be editing from that disc needs to simultaneously perform read/write operation which can slow down and even stall the transfer to the burner causing the toaster.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2014, 06:36 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,380
Re: multi edit with one computer?

Burning usually doesn't take that long ...

I'd love to be able to edit WHILST rendering a big project. As that puts my PC out of service for up to 5 hours.
James Manford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2014, 12:38 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England liverpool
Posts: 1,312
Re: multi edit with one computer?

Cheers guys will have a go today..
Steve Bleasdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2014, 08:46 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 270
Re: multi edit with one computer?

If you are using a program like Imgburn, there is an option "Test Mode" that lets you simulate the entire burn process without actually turning on the laser. This will let you test your process without burning a physical disc
Vince Pachiano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 5th, 2014, 07:57 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tipperary, Ireland
Posts: 587
Re: multi edit with one computer?

I always burn the image to file, then later on burn the image to disk.

You can export to Adobe Media Encoder using the Queue button to send the the file to render and still edit other projects or sequences in Premiere, or just open up Media Encoder and import the Sequence from there totally outside Premiere.
__________________
http://www.robertcantwell.com
Rob Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2014, 04:42 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: multi edit with one computer?

Just burning a dvd or also Encore rendering?
If its the later I would advice against editing and rendering at the same time to avoid mistakes in the encoding
Do it the old fashion way: render at night.
__________________
ACE Premiere Pro CC
Adobe Community Professional
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2014, 06:09 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,706
Re: multi edit with one computer?

I always use Encore to generate a disc image and then burn that with Roxio Toast or Nero.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2014, 06:30 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England liverpool
Posts: 1,312
Re: multi edit with one computer?

Thanks everyone! Had a go and cannot do it as it interrupts the burn process! I will get another computer and do it that way! That's the only way to do it! Will cs6 prem pro allow me to download the software on two computers or do I need a special license from Adobe
Steve Bleasdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 7th, 2014, 04:18 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: multi edit with one computer?

You can install CS6 on two computers.
__________________
ACE Premiere Pro CC
Adobe Community Professional
Ann Bens is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:34 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network