Default Transition Behavior at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 1st, 2015, 07:35 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Default Transition Behavior

Back in the day (CS6??), you could navigate to the desired edit point using the arrow up/down keys then hit CTR D and your default transition would be applied to that point.
In the recent versions of PPro CC, when you "arrow up" to the desired edit point, the forward clip is automatically highlighted and the CTR D shortcut will not apply the transition.
In order to use CTR D you must click elsewhere such that no clips are highlighted, or lasso both of the adjacent clips so that they are both highlighted.
This is an amazing nuisance- is there anyway around this such that you can navigate quickly to the cut and CTR D apply the transition???
Thanks
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2015, 11:05 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,483
Re: Default Transition Behavior

Flying blind as I am still on CS6, but I assume the current version still has the editable key functions; if so, just edit the up/down arrows. That would probably still be edit >keyboard shortcuts, then "go to previous edit point" (make it "up" with the up arrow) and "go to next edit point" and make it "down" with the down arrow. Can't test this but I hope it at least gives a clue.
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2015, 11:41 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: Default Transition Behavior

The arrow up/down keys work correctly as far as navigating the edit points on the timeline.
I think the culprit is the playhead (CTI). Whatever clip the playhead is positioned over, or when placed at the edit point (frame 1 of the adjacent clip), that clip is automatically selected (highlighted). This is what is preventing the CTR D application of the default transition.
I think this is the new behavior: that the CTI automatically activates the underlying clip.
I don't know how to turn that behavior off.
P.S. I just checked on my old version of CS6 and sure enough, movement of the CTI playhead does not cause the underlying clip to be activated.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2015, 12:05 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: Default Transition Behavior

Got it!!
On the top pulldown menus: SEQUENCE>Selection Follows Playhead - uncheck this item.
Now I can navigate edit points with arrow up/down, and CTR D will drop the transition on the selected point :-)
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2015, 07:35 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Re: Default Transition Behavior

Thanks Robert, this had been driving me insane!
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2015, 08:02 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: Default Transition Behavior

Same here.
I simply put up with it for the longest time.
Finally the other day I just said no more!
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2015, 04:12 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Default Transition Behavior

Beware, if you choose the Color workspace it will automatically set it to Selection follows Playhead.
__________________
ACE Premiere Pro CC
Adobe Community Professional
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2015, 12:31 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Re: Default Transition Behavior

Good call Ann.
That's probably what started the whole episode.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2015, 09:07 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Re: Default Transition Behavior

Ann, are you able to turn this behaviour off at all in CC2014?

I've found the toggle in CC2015, but going back to work on a 2014 project the option is not available in the SEQUENCE menu.
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2015, 03:06 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 694
Re: Default Transition Behavior

CC14 does not have this feature.
Selection follow playhead was not added until CC15
__________________
ACE Premiere Pro CC
Adobe Community Professional
Ann Bens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2015, 07:41 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Re: Default Transition Behavior

The default behaviour is different from previous versions though:

Prior to CC2014 to place a default transition you simply needed to have the track selected/active and the playhead at (or very close to) the edit point. Using this method it was very easy to place multiple default transitions just by using the up/down arrows and the Ctrl+D shortcut. It was also easy to add a transition as you were watching a sequence.

In CC2014 you need to select either the edit point (for a single transition) or the clip (for both start & end transitions). If you don't have those selected, you won't be able to add a default transition.
John Wiley is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network