Failed Twice! - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 12th, 2005, 06:59 AM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 98
To those that are interested, I have also learned that there is also a potential fix from Microsoft, related to SP2, a download (keyword KB886716).
I have downloaded this as well as the Main Concept download and going to give it another try (#5)

Thanks, Bob
Bob Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 02:57 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 98
Failed again! I downloaded the Microsoft patch and the Mainconcept patch, and tried a reburn. I got an err message again. This time when I came back to the computer after 3 hours there was also a warning referring to the fact that my computer was forced to use virtual memeory because of lack of memory. I wonder if this points to inadequet computer situation. Again I am using a P4, 1.9, with 512 ram. Is anyone else burning dvd's successfully directly from premiere pro 7.0 with similar computer specs?

Is there a way I can use Premiere to encode to mpeg2, then do the actual burn from a program such as Nero or similar burning only program? Although I am not sure if I am failing at the encoding process or the burn process.

HELLLLLLLLP!
Bob Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 03:09 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Schneider
Although I am not sure if I am failing at the encoding process or the burn process.
Instead of selecting "Export to DVD" choose "Adobe Media Encoder" and use one of the DVD MPEG2 presets. That will encode a DVD compliant file Nero (or something else) can transfer to DVD media.

And Bob, does this happen on all clips or this particular project only? If you can't burn anything to DVD I'd try something short first to minimize the time between failures until you get some success.

Sounds like you've run the gambit here on fixes though.
Rick Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 04:25 PM   #19
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Does it always fail at exactly the same point in the render? I seem to vaguely recall some problems with areas of a timeline where there is no clip to render; in other words, a gap between clips. If it happens at different points in the timeline every time, then I'm stumped.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 07:31 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 98
Thanks again Rick & Pete,

Interestingly, there is a gap in the timeline, (purposely black video). I filled the gap with a black matte instead. However this gap was within the first 2 minutes of the movie out of a 28 minute movie. The burning failure occurs after 3 hours of encoding, where it appears to be near the end. I don't know if that matters though. Anyway, I will try again right now. Incidentily, this is my first ever burning attempt. So I don't have any previous experience doing this on other clips.

Bob
Bob Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 07:41 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Posts: 654
Quote:
The burning failure occurs after 3 hours of encoding, where it appears to be near the end.
Pete may be on to something but again, don't try to render the whole thing and wait another 3 hours for failure.

Do a "Save As" on this project... give it another name. Then trim the front and back ends leaving the "gap" intact A total timeline length of 2 minutes should be adequate. Now try exporting this newly shortened project to DVD. If this fails then close the gap... Export again.
Rick Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 08:04 PM   #22
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Maybe we should back up a couple steps.

Have you been able to burn and copy plain old data discs successfully using the software bundled with the drive (Nero, DVD Creator, whatever)? If you get similar problems, it's more of a basic system problem. If you can create regular data discs and make copies of them on the bundled software, then it does point more towards a PPro issue.

Then...I haven't had this problem, but a lot of people say that you should kill the little drag-to-disc applets and similar little things that show up in your task bar...the things that the bundled software loads at boot up -- or even uninstall the software althogether -- to avoid conflicts. Supposedly these applications poll the writer hardware periodically and that can throw off your burn. Or something like that. Especially since your system is on the lean side, might want to give that a try.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 02:45 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 98
Well, I tried another burn without the gap in the timeline, and had the same negative result.

Then I tried a data burn using the Ulead program that came with the burner. The first time it failed and asked me to check the disk because it senced a problem with it. It happened to be the disc that I used for the last movie burn attempt so I changed it thinking perhaps it was effected by that last failed attempt. After inserting a new disc, it flawlessly burned the data.

I then took Ricks advice and shortend the movie to 2 minutes and attempted another burn. Again it seems to transcode fine, then assembles fine, but when it gets to the burn stage, it sounds like the burner stops and starts a few times & then it aborts, giving me err 336130, or sometimes err-224.

Incidentily I do disable Norton anti virus during these burn attempts.

Thanks again, Bob
Bob Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 06:07 AM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Denver, Colorado USA
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Schneider
Again it seems to transcode fine, then assembles fine, but when it gets to the burn stage, it sounds like the burner stops and starts a few times & then it aborts, giving me err 336130, or sometimes err-224.
This problem could be anywhere but I'm just wondering if the burner isn't at fault - based on your intermittent results with the Ulead product.

And I'm not sure what encoding process PPros uses when you select "Export to DVD". It may be making up to 3 passess through your video to determine bitrates and multiplex the audio and video which it most likely should. Same goes for one of the MPEG2 presets.

So... it sounds like PPro is not failing during the encode process. That still leaves a myriad of other possibilities (background task conflicts, faulty media, bad cable, your burner of course, etc.)

Combine the above possibilities with the fact you're using PPro version 1.0 and you may never find the soulution unless you start making some "physical" changes to your setup.
Rick Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 09:55 PM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 98
Thank's for the help all, Rick & pete,

I guess it was foolish of me to think that my expensive, semi-pro, NLE (Premiere Pro), would be capable of burning my timeline to dvd. I should have just tried my FREE Ulead Dvd Factory 4.0 or whatever it's called, (that came with my $69 Pioneer dvd burner), from the very beginning.

I simply exported my timeline to an avi file, opened my Ulead dvd factory, imported the avi file, and burned my project without a hiccup. If I wanted to spend a little more time, I could have also authored it with menus, titles etc. with that same FREE program. Unfortunately, I don't know if the final output is any different than what I would have gotten if PP was capable of this task, but I do know that I have a project burned to a disk.

I would be curious to know if anyone has ever successfully burned a dvd from the timeline, using Premiere Pro 7.0? And of course if not, why would this feature even be included in the program?

Bob
Bob Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 04:35 PM   #26
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
since you imported an avi into the ulead dvd program, there is the inference that the ulead program did the mpeg encoding.

since you were wondering about comparing the final output of that against premiere, i would suggest looking at the mpeg encoding options of both programs... we already know that the mainconcept premiere program gives you two-pass vbr encoding options, does the ulead program offer the same thing? does ulead use the mainconcept encoder? etc.
Dan Euritt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2005, 05:30 PM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 98
Hi Dan,

I actually tried it both ways. My first attempt was to import the avi file into the Ulead prgram and transcode it within that program, then burn it. It does offer 2 pass as an option, which I chose. I do not know which encoder it uses. The result was acceptable, but clearly not as sharp as the original dv footage.

My second attempt was to trancode the project in Premiere, then send that encoded clip to the Ulead program for just the burning process. (I again used the 2 pass preset within Premeire to transcode) The results of the 2 tests were identical. I could not tell them apart. Acceptable, but not as sharp and rich as the original dv footage. However when I transcoded the footage in Premiere, it separates the audio into a separate file, which I was not able to import into the Ulead program, thus leaving me with video only. I could not figure out a way to bring in the audio as well.

So, since the results are the same, and since I can't bring the audio into Ulead if I transcode in Premeire, it seems that I have only 1 option for burning my project to dvd. Thats using the Ulead program. I am a little disapointed at the final output quality. I expected better than what it is. It is similar, more or less,to Super vhs. Is there a way to improve the output, getting closer to the look of the original dv tape?

Thanks, Bob
Bob Schneider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2005, 08:18 AM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 98
After further examination of the Ulead product, I was able to find a way to import the audio files separately. Therefore I can transcode in Premiere (Main Concept), and do the burn in DVD Factory. I have not been able to figure out how to use a non-preset encoding configuration in Premiere. For example if I wanted to force a higher quality (3 pass?) or higher bitrate. Are these things possible? Also I have been reading suggestions that I should be using ac-3 as the audio setting for trancoding. Is that recommended even if the audio is not actually ac-3? What does that actually accomplish? I have also been trying to find out which mpeg encoder the Ulead program uses. I am told by Ulead that it is Windows media encoder 9? Is there such a thing?

I would be interested to know if anyone knows how these stand alone dvd recorders (via firewire from camera) work in comparison to a computer based dvd burner. Obviously there would not be the authoring capability, but I assume there still must be a transcoding process taking place, and do they use the same types of trancoders sch as Main concept etc.? I am just trying to keep my dvd output as clear and rich as my original dv tape. Burning via the computer using my current method produces less than stellar results.

Thanks, Bob
Bob Schneider is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network