Creating MP3 files in Premiere? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 16th, 2005, 02:21 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
Creating MP3 files in Premiere?

I would like to create MP3s in Premiere 6.5. Is this possible? In the compressor menu, I found a compressor called MPEG Layer-3. Is that the MP3 compressor?
James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2005, 08:45 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 80
Yes, I believe it is. You could download and install the Lame mp3 codec and try it out.
James Llewellyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2005, 02:26 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
Every time I try to use that MP3 (MPEG Layer-3) compressor, it crashes the encoder.
James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2005, 12:53 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
You could export a .wav file, and then encode it to with a stand alone MP3 encoder. Check out the following two Web page for some options that can be used with the Lame MP3 encoding engine:

http://lame.sourceforge.net/links.html
http://www.free-codecs.com/download/Lame_Encoder.htm
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2005, 02:40 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 300
i think you are not supposed to edit with .mp3 either in premiere.
Andzei Matsukevits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2005, 09:22 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andzei Matsukevits
i think you are not supposed to edit with .mp3 either in premiere.
Ideally, probably not. But I've done it, both with Premiere Pro and I believe in Premiere 6 as well.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2005, 06:19 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
Premiere crashes for me when I try to use mp3 files. and I just found out that's what was causing it. mp3s + Premiere = trouble.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2005, 08:58 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
I am able to load and use MP3 files in Premiere's timeline but it will crash if I try to create and export an MP3 file using the MPEG Layer 3 compressor.
James Emory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 22nd, 2005, 11:27 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Charleston, West Virginia
Posts: 131
Echoing Christopher's post - exporting WAVs then encoding with a third party encoder is pretty painless. Plus you can keep the full-quality WAVs for future use, to burn an audio CD or to convert to other formats if needed (Windows Media, RealAudio, etc). CDEx is the free app I use to convert from WAV to MP3.
Dan Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23rd, 2005, 07:58 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Modesto, California
Posts: 206
maybe it's the transcode settings, because it's always worked for me. I'm using PPro 1.5.1, and I can throw tons of MP3 on the timeline, with no beef.
Carlos Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2005, 06:13 AM   #11
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
inserting MP3 files in time line

I do not have any problem in transferring MP3 files to time line...PPro did not crash for me...I have inserted several MP3 files in different places ..no problem...did u render before u export to DVD..

pushpa
e-mail: pushpas@hotmail.com
Pushpa de Silva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2005, 08:44 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 1,892
Carlos and Pushpa, the issue is not importing existing mp3 files into the timeline, it's creating them by exporting. Try that and see what happens.
James Emory is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network