Editing VOB files at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 22nd, 2005, 06:30 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 52
Editing VOB files

Can Premiere Pro (or any other NLE for that matter) import and edit a VOB file or do you always have to demultiplex a VOB file first to be able to edit it? Can you perform simple edits and save without re-encoding?
Roy Bemelmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2005, 06:17 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Hi Roy you can buy the mainconcept plug in that will allow you to edit the vob file directly in Premiere. However you do have other ways of getting it in if you can't afford the plug in.
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2005, 09:15 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Try renaming the whatever.vob file to whatever.mp2 or whatever.mpg, then try to import it into Premiere. It may work okay so long as the audio from the DVD wasn't in AC3 (Dolby Digital) format. Note that when working with MPEG video in Premiere you will have to render your timeline when you are finished.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2005, 10:09 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Lefchik
Note that when working with MPEG video in Premiere you will have to render your timeline when you are finished.
So you couldn't perform a few simple cuts on an MPEG file and save without recompressing?

Incidentally, is there a feature in Premiere which tells how much recompression is going on when rendering a project? As I understand it, an NLE will only re-encode parts of the original video that have been edited or that have effects applied to them, right?
Roy Bemelmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24th, 2005, 12:11 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Bemelmans
So you couldn't perform a few simple cuts on an MPEG file and save without recompressing?
Not in Premiere. If all you want to do is cut parts out of an MPEG file, then you'd be better off using a free program like Mpg2Cut2 or Cuttermaran. These programs have the ability to cut parts out of an MPEG file without recompressing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Bemelmans
Incidentally, is there a feature in Premiere which tells how much recompression is going on when rendering a project? As I understand it, an NLE will only re-encode parts of the original video that have been edited or that have effects applied to them, right?
Premiere will show a red line above the parts of the time line which require rendering. Today's NLE editors are usually smart enough to only render the parts of the time line that have been modified. However, that is assuming you are working with DV video. Should you throw in something else, like a still image or MPEG, you may need to render that part of the time line even if you don't modify it.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 26th, 2005, 12:23 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Omagh
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Smith
Hi Roy you can buy the mainconcept plug in that will allow you to edit the vob file directly in Premiere. However you do have other ways of getting it in if you can't afford the plug in.
How else Ed,
I have imported the VOB files into Nero and it brings them in to their timeline, but what format do you have to export it out of nero so premiere will accept it so it can be edited?
Paul
Paul Gallagher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2005, 12:16 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
1) Get a DVD ripping program (there are many free) that will rip the file into an AVI preferably DV AVI. check out http://www.videohelp.com/tools.

2) If you have analogue input (analogue DV pass-thru on camera/ analogue capture card) then simply hook up an external (settop) DVD player to the analogue inputs, and then capture it that way.

It is illegal to copy copyrighted material

Hope it helps
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2005, 12:36 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Omagh
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Smith
1) Get a DVD ripping program (there are many free) that will rip the file into an AVI preferably DV AVI. check out http://www.videohelp.com/tools.

2) If you have analogue input (analogue DV pass-thru on camera/ analogue capture card) then simply hook up an external (settop) DVD player to the analogue inputs, and then capture it that way.

It is illegal to copy copyrighted material

Hope it helps
Thanks for that ed,
I didn't think a dvd played on a dvd player was analogue but digital, I'll give it a go.

Paul
Paul Gallagher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 27th, 2005, 03:32 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 52
So to sum up:

Basic editing while staying in MPEG2:
- use the MainConcept plugin, Woble MPEG video wizard, Cuttermaran or MPEG2CUT for no or minimum recompression.
(BTW, which of these support AC3/DD?)

Incorporating MPEG2 footage from a DVD into a DV / HD timeline:
- rip straight to AVI (DV) and import this file into your timeline (probably the best option when applying a lot of effects)
- import the MPEG into your timeline, from which it will be recompressed upon rendering your project (no smart rendering)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Lefchik
Premiere will show a red line above the parts of the time line which require rendering. Today's NLE editors are usually smart enough to only render the parts of the time line that have been modified. However, that is assuming you are working with DV video. Should you throw in something else, like a still image or MPEG, you may need to render that part of the time line even if you don't modify it.
I was also wondering, theoretically, will applying effects or transitions to video always degrade the quality of the changed frames? Even when working with uncompressed video?
Roy Bemelmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 08:49 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 52
Anyone for that last question?
Roy Bemelmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 11:48 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Bemelmans
So to sum up:

Basic editing while staying in MPEG2:
- use the MainConcept plugin, Woble MPEG video wizard, Cuttermaran or MPEG2CUT for no or minimum recompression.
(BTW, which of these support AC3/DD?)
I don't know about the others, but Cutterman does support Dolby Digital (AC3) audio. However, the MPEG stream must be demuxed (the video and audio streams must be sperated into their own files) before you can start editing with Cutterman.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2006, 01:05 PM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 1,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Gallagher
Thanks for that ed,
I didn't think a dvd played on a dvd player was analogue but digital, I'll give it a go.

Paul
Hi Paul,

The DVD is digital but the output signals from the settop DVD player will usually be analogue (SCART, Composite (Phono/ RCA), s-video or Component). Some DVD players will have an HDMI or DVI connection, in which case the output will be digital.

Hope this helps
__________________
Ed Smith
Hampshire, UK

Good things come to those who wait

My Skiing web www.Frostytour.co.uk


For quick answers Search dvinfo.net | The best in the business: dvinfo.net Sponsors
Ed Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2006, 10:20 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 52
Thanks, Christopher. What about this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Bemelmans
I was also wondering, theoretically, will applying effects or transitions to video always degrade the quality of the changed frames (albeit slightly)? Even when working with uncompressed video?
Roy Bemelmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2006, 12:42 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Bemelmans
Thanks, Christopher. What about this:
Originally Posted by Roy Bemelmans
I was also wondering, theoretically, will applying effects or transitions to video always degrade the quality of the changed frames (albeit slightly)? Even when working with uncompressed video?
I'm sorry, but I have no idea.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network