Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2006 - Page 44 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 11th, 2006, 02:54 AM   #646
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 232
Have you tried just importing the m2t file into PPro2. I use the hd100 and Aspect HD, so I capture from within PPro2. I import with FW and edit, that's it.
Also, I know there is a flip switch in Aspect HD.
Jon
Jon Jaschob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 08:53 AM   #647
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
The usual cause of upside-down images in the Windows world is that one of the pieces of software somewhere in the chain doesn't know how to handle RGB-format images - specifically RGB "Windows Device Independent Bitmaps" or DIBs.

For historical reasons, there are "upside-down" and software handling them and/or passing them on down the chain should flag them as such (usually by indicating the height as a negative number - e.g., for a 720x480 image, an RGB DIB should be handled as 720 x -480.

The usual culprit is a codec not respecting the information passed to it by the OS.

I hate to say it but Adobe are notorious for breaking these kinds of rules. I have had to often modify my own code to detect whether it is an Adobe product using it or not.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 09:11 AM   #648
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 755
Exporting with PPro 1.5 and Quicktime H.264

My frame gets squished (the opposite of the 1.2 widescreen setting) and the image is very washed out.

What am I doing wrong?

When I export using .wmv everything is fine. I really want to learn how to use H.264

Quicktime Planar RGB also seems to work fine?

Any ideas?

Are there any updates for 1.5?
__________________
My short films... The Interview & Calls From The Führerbunker
Mike Horrigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 09:38 AM   #649
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 755
Got it to work...

Thanks to the forum search engine (which I should have used in the first place) I got it to work.

I exported it as interlaced and downloaded the latest version of Quicktime. The scale and image was much better... but..., I have to say that .wmv looks better when played back. The dark scenes are dark in the .wmv, not grainy like what the Quicktime version shows.

I'm using Windows Media Player 11

Any suggestions on why that might be?

Mike
__________________
My short films... The Interview & Calls From The Führerbunker
Mike Horrigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 10:39 AM   #650
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
See this thread: H.264 Brightness / Contrast issue
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 11:23 AM   #651
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Lefchik
Well... glad to know that it isn't a problem on my end.

Thanks,

Mike
__________________
My short films... The Interview & Calls From The Führerbunker
Mike Horrigan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 12:33 PM   #652
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Posts: 11
Thank you, Steven. I guess then there is no way to extract one part of a captured HDV clip and store it in a file which is (nearly) an exact copy of the corresponding part of the capture file.

I like my method because I can have a quickly accessible, easily searched, on-disk archive with my footage without wasting HDD and backup space with scenes that will never be used in any project.

I will have a closer look at Cineform Aspect HD. Thanks.

/Thomas
Thomas Lundberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 12:47 PM   #653
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 12
Good to know on both accounts, thanks guys.
Christopher Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 05:35 PM   #654
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 57
DVD output quality

Ok I know there are a few threads dealing with this but I didn't want to thread hijack.

I have a 70 minute video I just finished. Shot in SD. It looks great on my comp screen, but when I export through Premiere Pro and get it to DVD, it looks bit grainy and not so great.

I used DVD encore, and I told it to build DVD. There was not an option on that screen to select how to compress it, so I assumed it set it automatically at the highest quality it could fit on a disc (I am using single layer discs). I checked the bitrate afterwards and it was between 7-10.

Yet I'm not satisfied with the image quality. Actually, when I used to work with Ulead tools, the DVD workshop gave me better quality.

I've heard some talk of using a better compressor etc. I'd really like to achieve maximum image quality on this disc.

Any tips on what I can do (preferrably for FREE, and before tomorrow evening so I can have the disc built Wed morning) to improve image quality? Whether it just be messing with the options in Encore, or using a different mpeg compressor....

please help! thanks!
Daniel Cegla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 08:05 PM   #655
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Cegla
Ok I know there are a few threads dealing with this but I didn't want to thread hijack.

I have a 70 minute video I just finished. Shot in SD. It looks great on my comp screen, but when I export through Premiere Pro and get it to DVD, it looks bit grainy and not so great.

I used DVD encore, and I told it to build DVD. There was not an option on that screen to select how to compress it, so I assumed it set it automatically at the highest quality it could fit on a disc (I am using single layer discs). I checked the bitrate afterwards and it was between 7-10.

Yet I'm not satisfied with the image quality. Actually, when I used to work with Ulead tools, the DVD workshop gave me better quality.

I've heard some talk of using a better compressor etc. I'd really like to achieve maximum image quality on this disc.

Any tips on what I can do (preferrably for FREE, and before tomorrow evening so I can have the disc built Wed morning) to improve image quality? Whether it just be messing with the options in Encore, or using a different mpeg compressor....

please help! thanks!
Not free but cheap, output AVI and MPG2 it via TMPGenc then burn it .. you'll be quite pleased.
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2006, 10:50 PM   #656
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miguel Lombana
Not free but cheap, output AVI and MPG2 it via TMPGenc then burn it .. you'll be quite pleased.
I will look into that... anyone else have any suggestions as well?

Question: in DVD encore, will I be able to select the compression engine to use as TMPGenc instead of Mainconcepts encoder? Or will I have to launch this program?
Daniel Cegla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 12:58 AM   #657
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 97
viewing monitor out of sync???

okay i will start off with how i have things set up. i have my dv camera connected to my computer through firewire. then i have a RCA cable(audio video analog) connected from my camera to a tv.

my problem is, the tv is out of sync with the computer when doing playback in adobe premiere. how can i fix this or can i? is there a different way to set it up. my audio is also out of sync.

thanks,
mike
Michael Sweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 03:52 AM   #658
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
You could also try CinemaCraft Basic encoder for encoding from Premiere Pro, using a bitrate calculator to find optimal settings.
http://dvd-hq.info/Calculator.html?P...f57#Calculator
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 04:20 AM   #659
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
You could just use EDL...
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2006, 06:05 AM   #660
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 56
Michael,

I once encountered a similar problem then realized what an idiot I was for not figuring it out right away. During capture I encountered a similar problem. The audio had a 1 second delay difference from my computer monitor and my broadcast monitor. I corrected the problem by going up to the menu bar and choosing playback options. If I remember right you have to set the playback to either one or the other to avoid the delay.

I am heading in to the office and I will tell you where it is located in PP2.
__________________
Currently using Panasonic AG AC160 Cameras. Editing with a custom built suite by http://www.videohardware.com running the latest Adobe Suite with Matrox.
Gary Gonsalves is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network