Premiere and Bullet Question at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 2nd, 2006, 03:30 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 67
Premiere and Bullet Question

I finally upgraded to Premiere Pro 1.5 and Magic Bullet to edit our short film. I'm very tired after a gnarly New Year here in Vegas and haven't had time to sift over everything on these forums, so here's the scoop.

I am noticing some odd "loss of quality" issues after rendering a Magic Bullet "Look" in my project. It is hard to explain, so here are a few examples.

The first sequence in which the camera slowly pulls back from a television I notice the edge of a wall kind of flickers, as do the edges of the TV until the camera stops moving.

Another example is we crane down a shelf, and as we pass a box of matches and a cigarette carton, there are lines flickering through them. It's not everything, just select items on the screen.

Is this just an issue with this software or are there settings I should check. The film was shot in 24p, I am using the Panasonic 24p project setting, and I am not using an external monitor to view this, just the premiere window.

Thanks for any help guys, this is my first big venture into this stuff.

Okay, I read through some stuff. I'm getting mixed information on the project settings, i.e. as to whether or not it should be 24 or 29 or whatever. I started editing this project on Premiere 6 and have never had to deal with any of this stuff as of yet. Don't know if this is even the problem, but I thought I'd throw it out there.
Alec Lence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 2nd, 2006, 10:28 AM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO.
Posts: 26
I am no expert... but

I would say that part of your video problem is the render to screen... I had some wierd effects like that but I did an audioless preivew on a monitor using a camera connected to a tv adn the firewire output (this is unsupported) - the output looked fine there and on the final master.

do you have a render card in your machine like a BlackMagic Decklink or suchnot?
Frank Moss
nine 13 media
Frank Moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2006, 10:36 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 493
Yeh, what are your Preview settings. Sometimes it defaults to less than Best Quality. I never trust the on-screen preview. Always use a monitor. Better yet, render a test clip and view that on a monitor.
Owner/Operator, 727 Records
Co-Founder, Matter of Chance Productions
Blogger, Try Avoidance
Joshua Provost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 3rd, 2006, 04:07 PM   #4
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 67
Yeah, it was the Premiere display that was causing the effect. I watched it on an LCD and on my TV and it looked fine. Except that it was squeezing the 16:9 to 4:3.
Alec Lence is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network