Premiere pro and Windows xp 64 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 12th, 2006, 10:05 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 49
Premiere pro and Windows xp 64

i've been using premiere pro 1.5 on windows xp pro....just wanted to know if it would also run on windows 64-bit
Abel Vang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2006, 04:41 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abel Vang
i've been using premiere pro 1.5 on windows xp pro....just wanted to know if it would also run on windows 64-bit
Not a qualified answer but I've "heard" yes, however other apps may not. Rigth now the majority of the industry is still using XP-PRO not the 64 bit ver. Also another thing to consider is what processor are you using, the chip that you have may not offer anything to the 64-bit version, I know that Tomshardware stated an Intel 840EE thrives on the 64-bit version, however the non HT capable 800 series chips doesn't.

One way to tell if you should consider 64-bit is to put together a workstation on Dell.com and see what options for an OS they are offereing, Win 64 at last check was not being offered.

Just something to consider.
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2006, 02:20 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 41
I'm running Windows 64 bit, and Premiere 1.5 pro works on it. From what I've noticed, it actually renders and edits faster as well.
Chad Huntley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2006, 09:54 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad Huntley
I'm running Windows 64 bit, and Premiere 1.5 pro works on it. From what I've noticed, it actually renders and edits faster as well.
Just the perfect person to ask, so how does 64bit handle TMPGEncoder, DVD Architect, Encore DVD, Scenalyzer, Procoder and other basic day to day video tools? I've been tempted to upgrade but have no reference as to the other stuff that I use and how it's going to behave. Hate to spend 4 to 6 hours loading a system to find that my warez don't play, I also have a Canopus Raptor Realtime card which I don't think there are any drivers for it to work in 64bit.

MIGUEL
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network