how do i set up my CRT tv as a preview monitor? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 13th, 2006, 01:39 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southend-On-Sea, England
Posts: 368
how do i set up my CRT tv as a preview monitor?

Hello,
I edit using premiere 6.5 on pc and have a 20" 4:3 CRT TV within a few feet. How would I go about setting up this tv as a monitor so that I can preview footage on there instead of (or as well as) the small window in premiere. Also I often notice things when watching a final exported movie on a tv that I didnt notice on the pc, would this mean using a TV would let me see exactly what the audience will see once the project has been finished?
I have also read that using a CRT Tv will benefit me when I shoot in 'movie mode' on my XL1s, is this correct?
Thanks in advance for your help.
David
David J. Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 02:09 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 192
In order to preview on a CRT monitor, you'll either need some dedicated hardware like a Canopus Storm which has realtime composite video out, or you'll need to connect your camcorder to the PC using firewire (like you would when capturing). Then connect the monitor to the composite output of the camcorder and providing your camcorder's got DV In, you should get a picture on the TV. It would be worth monitoring sound off the camcorder as well so it stays in sync with the picture...
Hope this helps!
Graham Risdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2006, 02:50 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brookline, MA
Posts: 1,447
I have not done this before, so I wonder what I wrong with the obvious solution: use a video card with an S-video output?
Emre Safak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2006, 02:42 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Posts: 192
Good point - the problem with an s-video output is that the software has to support the card in order to get true video out of the s-video socket, otherwise the s-video output just displays a PC monitor view...
Graham Risdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2006, 11:59 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southend-On-Sea, England
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Risdon
Good point - the problem with an s-video output is that the software has to support the card in order to get true video out of the s-video socket, otherwise the s-video output just displays a PC monitor view...
yeah this is the problem i have had in the past. Im gonna try using the camcorder to ourput the video and see what happens. I'll post my results here as soon as i get them
thankyou all for your help again
David J. Payne is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network