Multicam at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 26th, 2006, 03:35 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melreso Park IL.
Posts: 86
Multicam

Hi Guys:
I recently upgraded to PPro. 2.0 And would like to try on my computer the multicam feature. Does anybody know how to activate this feature on PPro. I was under the impression that this was easy but it is not apparently.
Mike Quinones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2006, 07:32 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 183
http://forums.creativecow.net/cgi-bi...era/index.html

That should help.
__________________
http://www.sareen.tv
Aanarav Sareen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2006, 07:53 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melreso Park IL.
Posts: 86
Multicam tutorial

Thank You very much Mr. Sareen. This place is the best and people like you are the reason. Keep up the good work.
Mike Quinones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 12:54 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aanarav Sareen

NO NO NO --- Don't do this extra step, the cow has everyone creating seperate SEQUENCES for each clip, totally un-necessary, drop all the clips on the same sequence and sync them, highlight them and flip the multicam bit, open the new multicam preview monitor, render it and edit. I'm not sure why someone hasn't revised that cow how-to, but both the Adobe tutorial and several others on the web avoid that step.

ML


References: http://www.digitalvideoediting.com/a...e.jsp?id=36989
http://media.studio.adobe.com/linked...t_multicam.pdf
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 09:32 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 183
Miguel:
There is a reason for that. What if you are working with 100 different clips from one source that are not seamless? It would be much better if you could club them into one sequence and then edit them separately.
__________________
http://www.sareen.tv
Aanarav Sareen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 10:59 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aanarav Sareen
Miguel:
There is a reason for that. What if you are working with 100 different clips from one source that are not seamless? It would be much better if you could club them into one sequence and then edit them separately.
Hmmm, got to give it a try but I see where you're coming from.
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 11:39 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melreso Park IL.
Posts: 86
Multicam

Miguel;
I tried the cow tutorial and as you said it is long but it work, if you know a short cut to this and like to share it I would certainly give it a try. Than You.
Mike Quinones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 11:07 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Litchfield Park, AZ (W/of Phoenix)
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Quinones
Miguel;
I tried the cow tutorial and as you said it is long but it work, if you know a short cut to this and like to share it I would certainly give it a try. Than You.
Check the 2nd link in my post, it's from the Adobe site delivered in PDF. Both work, just 1 saves a step. If you're working a 2 camera shoot where everything is 1 long capture, this method is perfect. If you're working something more complex as Aanarav suggested, chip nestling may be the better approach with clip sequences.

Either way, it's not easy, it's not fast and I've actually been editing dual projects, one in Pro 1.5 and one in Pro 2.0 to see which one is faster and easier. For now I can do it about as fast in either, BUT, I see myself working in 2.0 more and more.

MIguel
__________________
Miguel Lombana
http://www.miguellombana.com & http://www.phoenixhamradio.com
Miguel Lombana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 03:58 PM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Upgrade??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Quinones
Hi Guys:
I recently upgraded to PPro. 2.0 And would like to try on my computer the multicam feature. Does anybody know how to activate this feature on PPro. I was under the impression that this was easy but it is not apparently.
Did you say UPGRADE.. as in you did not have to buy the full version? I don't see any upgrades on their site. I use PPro 1.5 and would love to move up. You know!
Chay Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 06:37 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melreso Park IL.
Posts: 86
Upgrade

Hi Martin;
Yes I did upgrade to PPro. 2.0 from 1.5 If Iím not mistaken it cost me $249. from the Adobe Store. Now I have both version since 2.0 is a new version.
Not bad but slower than 1.5. But at least if I want to, I can always go back to the previous version.
Mike Quinones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 07:39 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Quinones
Hi Martin;
Yes I did upgrade to PPro. 2.0 from 1.5 If Iím not mistaken it cost me $249. from the Adobe Store. Now I have both version since 2.0 is a new version.
Not bad but slower than 1.5. But at least if I want to, I can always go back to the previous version.
Got upgrade for $199 from videoguys.com
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2006, 10:42 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Melreso Park IL.
Posts: 86
Chris
I paid the same thing, after revising my bill. Prices are pretty much the same.
Mike Quinones is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network