Premiere 6.5 and XL2? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 22nd, 2006, 01:28 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 128
Premiere 6.5 and XL2?

Hi -

My friend wants to buy an XL2. I'm a FCP user so I'm not too keen on what Premiere can or cannot do. He's on Mac, and has Premiere, but since Adobe stopped making it, he's stuck at 6.5. Regardless, he's stubborn, and refuses to switch to FCP.

So the question is... can Premiere 6.5 properly edit footage from the XL2? Can it edit native 16:9 and 24p at a 2:3:3:2 pulldown?
Daniel Hollister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 03:43 PM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 177
I use Premiere on a PC, and from what I know on my platform, only Premiere Pro 1.5 and later can handle 24P footage and do the pulldown properly.
Joseph Tran is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network