strange difs between ppro 1.5.1 and 2; why? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 15th, 2006, 08:18 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: taiwan
Posts: 30
strange difs between ppro 1.5.1 and 2; why?

i was going to try a new project in ppro2, but got stuck right off the bat with strange difs in behavior. the project is to put opening and closing credits on rock video ala VH1. So it's just a clip on video 1, a boris red animation on video2 and the title on video3. using the safe action area all three tracks are laid down in the lower left corner.

Premiere 1.5.1
Everything works as expected, title previews and renders clear on the timeline and timeline exports to tape exactally as shown on the screen.

Premiere 2.0
Titles are blurry on the timeline when in motion, but render out to tape fine. The preview setup is different in the new version, no longer previewing on the cam, but on monitor 2 (a 1024x768 flatscreen), so things look different there. The animation which is scaled to the lower left has a different position in preview than on export to tape. it shifts down and to the left outside the safe area.

I see no way to replicate the project from 1.5 in 2, and that worries me. Titles are no longer kept in an external file, and that confused me too. But the biggest problems are 1> blurry text during preview, in fact the video is even a bit soft, and 2) the positioning of a video layer seems off.

Both projects are using the same settings: PAL, 4:3 aspect, etc., yet in the preview on the monitor in v2 the frame is stretched, I guess because the monitor has a different aspect ratio then the project...so thats not so good.

But the end results are the same - but for the animation layer shifting places on the final tape. Hmmm.....

Thanks,
jigs
__________________
All Mac Studio in Nepal
Herojig Gaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 13th, 2006, 11:08 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 570
I have experienced the softness you are talking about too for both titles and the footage itself when previewing. Don't know why that is, but it is anoying as hell. I thought it might be my video card since it's a cheapo one, but that's unlikely. When you click on the image in the main monitor in PPro2 the image becomes sharp again, but as soon as you play the footage, even if set to highest quality, it becomes soft looking.

I hate the fact Adobe always seem to introduce new bugs with each new version instead of just fixing the old ones. Fire the beta testing team Adobe! ;-)

I must say I haven't experienced the other troubles you have though.
David Lach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 12:45 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: DuPont, Wa
Posts: 325
Not the video card.. Same problem with a Nvidia 7800GT and 7900GTX..
Pat Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 10:43 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
The problem of titles going soft, I already have that now with Ppro 1.5...
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 12:05 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 570
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mathieu Ghekiere
The problem of titles going soft, I already have that now with Ppro 1.5...
Believe me, I've worked with both versions, and it's much worse in PPro2. And not only does the titles become soft, but any images/footage has jagged edges and a soft look to it when previewing, which wasn't the case in PPro 1.5.

I'm currently working on a 4:3 30p corporate project shot with an XL2 and I almost had a heart attack the first time I saw the footage in Premiere, it looked like some old consumer grade VHS cam resolution. Fortunately it looked fine when exported back to DVD, but still not practicle at all for editing purposes. What were they thinking?
David Lach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2006, 11:08 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 589
Are you sure you didn't have the preview quality set low (as is the default when set to auto)?
__________________
Our eyes allow us to see the world - The lens allows others to see the world through our eyes.
RED ONE #977
Daniel Patton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2006, 12:27 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 570
No, not for me, unfortunatelly, it's set at the highest preview quality.
David Lach is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network