Audio skipping! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 20th, 2006, 09:10 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB, CAN
Posts: 20
Audio skipping!

Alright, so something weird was happening last time I tried capturing some footage off of a tape filmed with the TRV900 I believe it was. I'm using Premiere and my Canon Elura 65 camcorder to capture. During playback of the said tape, it would make these audio skips. Is my camera not good enough to handle the 3chip tape, or is something else going on?

I had to end up capturing using the TRV camera, and the problem went away.

What could it be?
Calvin Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2006, 08:26 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB, CAN
Posts: 20
Could it be because of using a different tape than what I always use to film with? What does cleaning the heads do?
Calvin Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2006, 12:49 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB, CAN
Posts: 20
Does anyone check this forum?
Calvin Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2006, 01:43 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 142
Did you check if these audio skips where actually in the captured footage? I've noticed that the desktop audio playback sometimes skips during capture, but the captured video is fine.
__________________
JF Robichaud
Jean-Francois Robichaud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 08:05 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB, CAN
Posts: 20
Nope they aren't in the footage itself, since it plays fine on the trv900.
__________________
http://www.darkbyke.deviantdesign.ca
Canon Elura 65
Adobe Premiere 1.5 Pro
Song VAIO PC / 3GHz / 1.5GB ram / 710GB capacity
Calvin Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 11:27 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burnaby & Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calvin Wallace
During playback of the said tape, it would make these audio skips.
I have a few questions:

1. You said "During playback" -- do you mean playback while capturing the footage or playing back the clips already captured in Premiere?

2. What do the "audio skips" sound like? Repeating the same few seconds over and over? Drop-outs (blips without sound)? Or skips where the audio jumps ahead suddenly?
__________________
Earl R. Thurston
Director of Digital Media Services
Stargate Connections Inc.
Made with GY-HD100: The Container Adventures: The Rescue
Earl Thurston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 02:17 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB, CAN
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Earl Thurston
I have a few questions:

1. You said "During playback" -- do you mean playback while capturing the footage or playing back the clips already captured in Premiere?

2. What do the "audio skips" sound like? Repeating the same few seconds over and over? Drop-outs (blips without sound)? Or skips where the audio jumps ahead suddenly?
1. Skips when playing the tape in my Elura camcorder, and also the footage on my computer skips too.

2. It's been a while, but I think they were more like "bleeps" or drop-outs.
__________________
http://www.darkbyke.deviantdesign.ca
Canon Elura 65
Adobe Premiere 1.5 Pro
Song VAIO PC / 3GHz / 1.5GB ram / 710GB capacity
Calvin Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 02:32 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burnaby & Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 282
Thanks. Your problem is likely due to an incompatibility in the Elura tape drive. Some Canon cameras, including my GL1, have a tape drive that is slightly off the DV specification. The tracking isn't the same as other decks. So, tapes recorded on the Canon will not playback properly on other brands, and tapes recorded in the other brands will not playback properly on the Canon. The symptom is usually audio dropouts.

The exact same thing happens when my dubbing house plays my GL1 tapes on their JVC deck. I have to take the entire camera with me to make dubs.

If you can get ahold of a Sony, JVC or Panasonic deck, you will likely not have the problem.
__________________
Earl R. Thurston
Director of Digital Media Services
Stargate Connections Inc.
Made with GY-HD100: The Container Adventures: The Rescue
Earl Thurston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 03:25 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Edmonton, AB, CAN
Posts: 20
Thanks Earl, darn that's what I thought..

Time to upgrade once I save up the money for a new camera!
__________________
http://www.darkbyke.deviantdesign.ca
Canon Elura 65
Adobe Premiere 1.5 Pro
Song VAIO PC / 3GHz / 1.5GB ram / 710GB capacity
Calvin Wallace is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network