Panasonic P2HD and Premiere Pro - Page 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 15th, 2007, 10:06 AM   #91
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Deep South, U.S.
Posts: 1,381
Gary,

Shouldn't we be able to get "real-time" viewing with the BM-Intesity card to a preview monitor without using the Matrox RT card....
__________________
Mark
videos: http://vimeo.com/channels/3523
Mark Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 10:19 AM   #92
Sponsor: Electronic Mailbox
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Glen Cove, NY
Posts: 751
Not sure if you'll get real-time output of P2 footage w/ Intensity. It should work, but we never tried it. Intensity & Intensity Pro are amazing cards that give you fantastic HDMI I/O.

Just to clarify. The RT.X2 doesn't give you real-time previews, it gives you real-time video editing. Many of us have forgotten how valuable this added performance can be. With DV computers have gotten do fast that real-time hardware isn't needed. With compressed HD formats (HDV, DVCProHD etc.) the RT.X2 adds a level of real-time features that can have a significant impact on your workflow.

Gary
__________________
Check out http://www.videoguys.com 800 323-2325 We are the video editing and live video production experts! DV InfoNet members save 5%! Use Coupon Code DVINFO5OFF
Gary Bettan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2007, 11:12 AM   #93
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 490
My understanding is that the Intensity card is not compatible with 24pNative footage.

Not certain, but that's what I recall being told in response to a question.
David Saraceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2007, 10:13 AM   #94
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 20
I noticed in Dav's video that he was importing 1080i video from the P2. While he was importing the footage I looked and did not see the option to import 1080p. Does Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 work with 1080p?
Dan Eschenfelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2007, 10:33 AM   #95
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Also, Cineform might be worth considering for your workflow with Premiere & P2... I'm honestly not sure how it works with P2 as I've never played with one, but it could make for a nice workflow for ya!

C
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2007, 11:20 AM   #96
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Eschenfelder View Post
I noticed in Dav's video that he was importing 1080i video from the P2. While he was importing the footage I looked and did not see the option to import 1080p. Does Adobe Premiere Pro CS3 work with 1080p?
There is a DVCProHD 1080i 24p preset.
David Saraceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2007, 07:52 PM   #97
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Bettan View Post
If you need additional performance beyond what Premiere Pro 3.1 will give you woth P2, you should check out Matrox RT.X2.

It will add a level of real-time editing to your workflow.
http://www.videoguys.com/Emails/rtx2-bun.html

Gary
This is true for 1080 HDV, but not DVCPRO HD 1080. The RT.X2 only goes as far as 720P with DVCPRO HD.

From the Matrox website:
Native HDV 1080i, HDV 1080p, HDV 720p (JVC ProHD), Panasonic P2 MXF 720p, and MPEG-2 4:2:2 I-frame HD editing
Brad Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2007, 10:21 AM   #98
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 36
What would rendering times be like with the RTx2?
Rendering is the bain of the adage...time is money...arrrrgghhhhhh
Alan Waters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 09:38 AM   #99
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Singapore, Rep of SINGAPORE
Posts: 749
What about Glass Valley's (Canopus) EDIUS? I have been using it with great success to edit P2 / MXF files. It is totally seemless - just import the clips directly (no conversion, no rendering) into EDIUS BIN and everything is there, ready to be dragged to timeline.
TingSern Wong is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network