Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2004 - Page 43 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 21st, 2004, 08:29 AM   #631
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: St.Petersburg,Fla
Posts: 162
After a few days I figured it out. The files I was using was on the DVD and I needed them to be put on the hard drive before I started the project.
Chad Solo is offline  
Old June 21st, 2004, 08:57 AM   #632
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That would be wise indeed. Thank you for responding with your
solution. It will help people in the future!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old June 21st, 2004, 12:37 PM   #633
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Manchester and Kent, UK
Posts: 256
Thanks Roger. Thought everyone had given up on me.

I'm am using the 4.5 drivers form Pinnacle.

Sou you think that it could just be the case of having to re install everything?
__________________
Richard Lewis.
Steadicam Owner / Operator
Richard Lewis is offline  
Old June 21st, 2004, 04:20 PM   #634
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Issues with codecs in Premeire pro

Hello all,

I'm new to the boards and have only one question about premiere, while I truely enjoy the program I have one issue: When I use [File>Adobe encoder] the videos look a little blocky especially for the size. When I use [File>export>movie>settings] everythign works fine until I open the video. The video has "tears" in it. The video is blocky and blurrs and mostion causes some groups of pixels to stay while the rest of the video moves on, creating a very uglt "buggy" look. it's hard to describe but basically looks like some parts of the frame are just staying on the screen longer. whyen there is no motion however the video is fine.

Sorry for lack of technical terms I'll try to come back with more info.
Spencer Reeve is offline  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 01:24 AM   #635
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 31
NTSC to PAL conversion

I take it from reading hereabouts that DV500 Premiere cannot convert (output) my NTSC edit to a PAL Mini DV... Am i right?

Any conversion suggestion at minimal cost that would still protect the integrity of the 90mins video on my HD? Quality is so important.

Thanks.
Sola Osofisan is offline  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 04:44 AM   #636
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
There is indeed a serious lack of information in your post. But
that might be because you don't fully understand how it works.

Basically Adobe encoder and export movie are the same thing
only on a different approach. Encoder is used to help encode
movies to various platforms: web, dvd etc.

The export can do the same but is more like a low-level approach
and can also be used to just export to DV AVI and uncompressed
AVI.

AVI and QuickTime are container formats (MPEG, WMV and Real
to some degree as well). This means that the format is actually
a shell around the data. This data is encoded with a CODEC.
This CODEC is also used to decode the data when playing back.

How small the files will end up being and at what quality all
depends on the codec you choose. AVI and QuickTime both
support DV (format that comes off your camera) and uncompressed
which are both not compatible with DVD and too large for web
delivery.

Uncompressed is what we call a lossless format since it does not
throw away any information. The files are huge. DV is a 5:1 lossy
compression. It reduces filesizes 5 times but throws away
information (primarely information we cannot see with the eye,
depending on how much detail is in the scene).

MPEG (for (S)VCD & DVD) comes in two flavors. MPEG1 and MPEG2.
The former being for VCD And the latter for SVCD and DVD.

There is also MPEG4 but that can be encapsulated inside a
container format (like AVI & QuickTime) and is mostly found in
DiVX and XviD codecs.

So the first thing you need to do is choose a container format.
For DVD this is MPEG2, for web most people choose between
AVI, WMV and QuickTime. There are more options but these are
the most used ones.

After picking the format you usually need to pick a codec. Then
this codec has several parameters to control. For example with
MPEG2 encoding you can usually choose between CBR (Constant
Bitrate) and VBR (Variable Bitrate) encoding at different bitrates.
The higher the bitrate the larger the file and the better the quality.
VBR usually gives better results than CBR does.

For web delivery QuickTime is often used with a version of the
Sorenson codec or Animation in some cases. AVI uses DiVX a
a lot.

So there is a quite a lot to it in the end. Never ever use a default
setting because it will rarely give you want you want. Either a too
large a file or too low a quality.

Go into the options screens and see what you can change and
expirement with settings etc. Noting things like file size and quality.

Keep in mind that web delivery seldom uses the full resolution of
a file because the file will usually be too big. Web delivery usually
halves the resolution at least.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 06:10 AM   #637
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
To the best of my knowledge that is WRONG. Just change the
project to PAL and load up your NTSC footage.

BUT, it would most probably give you results you won't be
pleased with. But it should work.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 10:00 AM   #638
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 92
Things I didn't know I didn't know...

Reminds me of a saying I once heard.

You know the things you know,
And you know the things you don't know.
But then there are the things you don't know you don't know.

Thanks for helping me with the later :)
Ming Dong is offline  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 05:51 PM   #639
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Your welcome, Ming! <g>
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 08:17 PM   #640
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1
How to emulate Magic Bullet - Opticals?

Is there a way to, instead of using the boring cross-fade included in Premiere, have a fade transition between two clips that has a more filmic touch? Like the Magic Bullet Opticals plug-in can achieve?

I have tried the 'additive dissolve' transition, but that's not the effect I'm looking for.

Thankyou.
Antoine Legrand is offline  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 09:16 PM   #641
Gary Wilson
 
Posts: n/a
to widescreen mode or not?

hi, i am making a movie in premiere for a dvd and i was wondering if its smart to use premiere's widescreen mode or not? i will be shooting in widescreen mode, but should i just resize the video and use normal mode in premiere? does it matter?
 
Old June 22nd, 2004, 10:01 PM   #642
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Okay, thanks for the info.

The issue is still occuring, so I'm going to supply my encoding selections.

[File>Export>Movie[clicked]Settings]

[General]

File Type: Microsoft AVI
Range: Entire Sequence
[Checked] Export video [Unchecked]Add to project when finished]
[Checked]Export audio [Unchecked]Beep when finished
Embeding options: None

[Video]

Compressor: DivX 5.0.1 codec
Color Depth: Millions of colors
Frame size: 720h 480v(I've adjusted this with no luck) 16:9
Frame Rate: 24.00 FPS (I've adjust this with no luck)

D1/DV NTSC (0.9) (I've also done d1/dv ntsc wide screen 16:9 91.2))

Quality(box)
100% (this is unselectable)

Data rate(box)

[Unchecked] limit data rate to: (unselectable) 3500k/s
[Unchecked] Recompress: (unselecatable) maintain data rate

[Keyframe and Rendering]
Rendering options (box)
Fields: No Fields (Proggrassive scan) (I've also done lower first with no luck)
[Unchecked]deinterlace video footage (I have rendered with it checked with no luck)
[unchecked] Optimize stills (i've had this checked too)

Keyframe Options (box)
[Unchecked] Key frame ever (unselectable) 10 frames
[Unchecked] Add key frames at markers
[Unchecked] Add keyframes as edits

[Audio]
Compressor: Uncompressed
Sample Rate: 44100hz
Sample Type: 16 bit
Channels: Stereo
Interleave: 1 Frame

Here is a picture of the issue:

http://www.busstopproductions.com/issue.jpg

Also I had a jpeg in the video and I was told that it could be the source of the issue I removed it and the issue still arouse. Also I am using the title maker, I'm going to remove everything but film and see if the issue occurs.
Spencer Reeve is offline  
Old June 22nd, 2004, 11:38 PM   #643
Gary Wilson
 
Posts: n/a
exporting dvd at 23.976 fps?

i just learned premiere pro can do this, will this just take out frames (not slow down the video)? if so, this is great!
 
Old June 23rd, 2004, 02:24 AM   #644
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Why are you shooting in "widescreen" (ie, 16:9)? I'm assuming
you do not have a 16:9 native camera or an anamorphic
attachment for your camera. So no, it doesn't make much sense
other than that it might save you some time to do it with letter-
boxing yourself.

If you shoot 16:9 stay with that the whole way. So yes, edit,
encode and author in 16:9 as well. That's the easiest thing to
do in this case.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old June 23rd, 2004, 02:30 AM   #645
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
You will need to set the pixel aspect ratio to 1.0. I think you will
in this case also need to set the output size to 864 * 480
(720 * 1.2 PA).

See what this does. The picture you've put up seems very odd
indeed. Which versions of Premiere are you using?

I'm also thinking that 24 fps is wrong for your movie. With what
camera did you shoot this and at what framerate? Most NTSC
camera's shoot at 29.97 fps, not 24 fps.

Depending on your Premiere version these two things could
cause streaking/blurring (framerate & resolution).

Are you SURE your footage is 16:9?

What are your PROJECT settings in Premiere?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network