Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2004 - Page 8 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 24th, 2004, 01:58 AM   #106
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 144
wait realtime preview via 1394 out?? You mean like a DV in signal to a camera??
__________________
Vlog On!
http://youtube.com/clintus
Clint Comer is offline  
Old January 24th, 2004, 04:23 AM   #107
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 40
Paul,
Yes, PPro does realtime output to 1394 just fine. I use it all the time, no problem. If your camera has 1394 in and some form of output such as svideo or RCA to a monitor, you'll be just fine.

I also have the Canopus ADVC-100. It works GREAT. The PC and PPPro sees it as a 1394 camera, and you don't have to keep a camera plugged into it.
http://www.canopus.us/US/products/ADVC-100/pm_advc-100.asp
Dennis Sladek is offline  
Old January 24th, 2004, 11:30 AM   #108
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cambridge, UK
Posts: 164
Creating subtitles that each appear and disappear at just the right timecode is a traditional pain in the a**.

You can buy specialist tools that create and/or read text/binary files containing descriptions of exactly what the subtitle text is, when it starts and finishes, its font, colour, and size. And puts them onto the video. This can be software only (eg DVD authoring software), or hardware (eg broadcast environments).

Or you can add them one at a time as in the first answer, tweaking each one till it's right. And just swallow the time and effort hit.

Premiere, and other PC NLEs, aren't really designed to provide a proper workflow for this kind of thing.

Regards,

Julian
Julian Luttrell is offline  
Old January 26th, 2004, 03:18 PM   #109
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 340
Ok, I'm confused... at DV Expo in LA the Adobe guy said 24p wouldn't be available in Premier until sometime this spring. I shoot with a DVX and have been checking out various software (hate FCP, leaning toward Avid Express Pro, though I'm more and more impressed with the Vegas Demo). But from this thread it appears it's available now? Is it true 24p support like the others I mentioned?
Marcia Janine Galles is offline  
Old January 26th, 2004, 03:29 PM   #110
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 508
I have Vegas--and I believe Vegas supports 24p. Vegas has alot of interesting plug-ins available (Excalibur, Tsnumai, Neon), available with demos also.
Barry Rivadue is offline  
Old January 26th, 2004, 03:58 PM   #111
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 340
Cool, Barry. Will go hunt them down and check them out...
Marcia Janine Galles is offline  
Old January 26th, 2004, 05:47 PM   #112
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 159
Is there such a thing as a free plugin for Premier Pro?

Hi all

I'm looking for a old style film effect for use in Adobe premier but all that I can find are expensive plugin packs. Any way I can do this for free as it's a short sequence that needs this effect.

Thanks
Donie
Donie Kelly is offline  
Old January 27th, 2004, 08:49 AM   #113
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 481
If you buy Quicktime Player Pro, for around $30 dollars, you should be able to take that footage into the player, apply there old film filter, adjust it to your liking, and then save it as a DV file to take back into Premiere.
David Stoneburner is offline  
Old January 27th, 2004, 03:37 PM   #114
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
A lot of effects can be made with a little time yourself by using
the filters that come with the package and combining those.
It will take time to learn what does what and what happens if
you combine them, but it's cheap!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old January 27th, 2004, 09:28 PM   #115
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
A combination of filters will do it.

Premiere 6.5 also had a film look plug-in, but it's a bit overdone and cheesy for my tastes. The viewer will definitely get the point and the film effect as far as I remember wasn't annoying (unlike some of the crappy film look imitations I see on TV) so it's alright.
Glenn Chan is offline  
Old January 28th, 2004, 09:45 PM   #116
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
there is also sony's SDDS (7.1) but it is only used in cinemas. there are also MLP layers of DVDs for DVD-Audio and DSD for SACD. lots of digital mayhem... basically =).
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline  
Old January 29th, 2004, 09:26 AM   #117
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Lomita, Ca
Posts: 25
Color matching in Premiere Pro

Can someone please tell me the best way to color match footage shot from different cameras. I know there are many tools for this. I recently shot a dance performance and used 3 cameras; a Canon XL1s, a Canon Gl2 and a Sony TRV950. The GL2 and XL1s footage is almost identical, but the Sony footage is a little light (blownout) and a little hotter (reddish. How can I get the Sony footage closer to the other cameras'?

Thank you in advance.

Sincerely,

Joe
Joe Cinquina is offline  
Old January 29th, 2004, 04:11 PM   #118
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 18
24fps support

With PremPro you would use dvfilmmaker to convert the raw 24PA file to something PremPro could use.

Vegas supports the advanced pulldown from the panny directly without any plugins.

Avid supports the panny out of the box also.

I'm sure (and can't wait...) that adobe will provide an update also.
Kalmin Fullard is offline  
Old February 1st, 2004, 06:54 PM   #119
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 58
Need help on finding a plug in...please!

I need to find a plug in for my Adobe pro. The plug in I am looking for is where I can make white accents in the film glow more and have control over the softness. Something dreamy or something you would use for like a wedding or creating memories.

Thanks in advance. I was using Big filmfx and installed a new motherboard which caused me to lose my program I was using.
Adam Brennan is offline  
Old February 2nd, 2004, 01:04 AM   #120
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Aus
Posts: 3,884
after effects would have this.. or um.. uhem.. vegas has it built in cough ;)
Peter Jefferson is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network