Adobe Premiere & Premiere Pro discussions from 2004 - Page 86 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 14th, 2004, 11:54 PM   #1276
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
fwiw, i don't think that you will gain anything by capturing footage with quicktime instead of premiere.
Dan Euritt is offline  
Old November 15th, 2004, 07:44 AM   #1277
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 204
Mpeg-2 editing in premiere pro

Hello everyone,

I have the following problem: on a documentary I edited a while ago I made a final export to mpeg-2 for dvd. Now after the job was delivered and concluded, due to a hard-drive crash I lost all my orignal captured .avi files. That was very nasty, although not a disaster because the job was already concluded and I also still had my source files on the dv-tapes. Now my client would like a shorter version of the documentary. It only involves a few very basic steps; cutting out some parts. So I tried to re-edit my mpeg-file (I know, that's not going to do the quality any good, but this client isn't that picky on that for this low-budget project) but couldn't get any results as premiere screws up the timeline; the audio isn't sync anymore, there are skips and freezes, etc.
Now I'm sure this is because of the intra-frame compressing of mpeg (and the GOP and I-frames, etc.).
My question is if there's any way to do this edit in premiere with a plug-in or mod, or to do it in another program. The only other option I have is to go back to the source dv-tapes but that would take me a week to edit, whereas some cuts in the mpeg-file would take me 5 minutes (on a working program, that is!). I even tried those freeware videosplitting apps who claim to do mpeg but they screwed it up as well. Ideas, anyone?

Steven
Steven Fokkinga is offline  
Old November 15th, 2004, 08:10 AM   #1278
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Where are you located in Holland? You might try loading the
MPEG2 in www.virtualdub.org and have it export it as
an uncompressed AVI file. If that works you'll be set. If not you
will probably need another edit program (I have Vegas here and
it should be able to do this).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old November 15th, 2004, 10:36 AM   #1279
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
With digital format you can only capture in DV, although QuickTime
supports DV I don't think you can capture to it (it looks like it
switched to analog capturing which it can't find). If you need a
QuickTime DV avi file on the PC just capture it in AVI, drag it to the
timeline and export as QuickTime DV.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old November 15th, 2004, 06:30 PM   #1280
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 204
Hi Rob, I'm from Delft.

I tried virtualdub, but all it says is: "no video frames found in mpeg-file" It says that on multiple mpeg files, also video from another sources (ripped from dvd). Could this be a codec problem? They play normally in media player or other players, just when I try to re-edit them (in premiere) they screw up. Any thoughts?

Steven

PS I don't have Vegas so can't check if that works
Steven Fokkinga is offline  
Old November 15th, 2004, 09:25 PM   #1281
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
you do not want to re-encode the mpeg2 file at all... that means you'll need a real mpeg2 editor.

womble is what i use, you can download the free trial and see how it works for yourself... it has a window that tells you what is being re-encoded and what isn't, you should be able to get away with simple cuts-only editing with no re-encoding at all.

of course, that assumes that you have already pulled the mpeg2 files out of your dvd.

canopus also has an mpeg editor that should not do any re-encoding for simple edits.
Dan Euritt is offline  
Old November 15th, 2004, 09:28 PM   #1282
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orem, UT.
Posts: 24
Premiere freezes when camera connected

I really really need some help on this one. I have my camera connected to my computer through a firewire and I am going out from the camera to a tv. In theory this should work, but instead anytime the computer is connected to the firewire it freezes premiere so it doesn't play anything nothing is being outputted or shown at all. As soon as I disconnected the firewire or turn the camera off Premiere goes back to normal.

Do any of you know how to fix this? Please help! Thank you


WILL
Will Robertson is offline  
Old November 16th, 2004, 02:41 AM   #1283
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hi,

I had that problem with Premiere 6 / 6.5 ... never did fix it for good - a temporary fix that worked for some time was to delelete the firewire driver from "device manager" and let Windows rediscover it. Never had this problem with Premiere Pro


// Lazze \\
Lars Siden is offline  
Old November 16th, 2004, 05:12 AM   #1284
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
That's an excellent idea indeed Dan. There is also a program
somewhere called M2Edit I believe. How large is the file?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline  
Old November 16th, 2004, 05:48 AM   #1285
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kaohsiung / Taiwan / R.O.C.
Posts: 15
http://fcchandler.home.comcast.net/stable/

try this one of have a look for the MainConcept mpg2-support for premiere, its working quite nice, u can import every mpg2 file and edit easily

;P

always keep in mind, google is ur best friend :)
__________________
----------
i am german, living in Kaohsiung / Taiwan R.O.C.
sorry my english isnt the best, if u find some blemish, take it and sale it on ebay or the store u prefer :)
Mirko Sohr is offline  
Old November 16th, 2004, 07:04 AM   #1286
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 204
mission accomplished

Thanks Rob, Dan and Mirko!

I managed to get it done with the womble-thing! That saved me a week's work!

Many thanks again!

Steven
Steven Fokkinga is offline  
Old November 16th, 2004, 07:09 AM   #1287
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kaohsiung / Taiwan / R.O.C.
Posts: 15
ur welcome... i hope u can be succesfull, and it useful in ur case
__________________
----------
i am german, living in Kaohsiung / Taiwan R.O.C.
sorry my english isnt the best, if u find some blemish, take it and sale it on ebay or the store u prefer :)
Mirko Sohr is offline  
Old November 16th, 2004, 09:33 AM   #1288
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 75
I always plug in and power up the camera before starting Premiere and never had any problems. Are you starting Premiere before turning on the camera?
HTH
-Cjh
Cliff Hepburn is offline  
Old November 16th, 2004, 10:26 AM   #1289
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Orem, UT.
Posts: 24
Usually I'll wait until Premiere is loaded and then plug it in but I've tried it both ways. I'll try what you suggested Lars and see if that helps, thanks.
Will Robertson is offline  
Old November 16th, 2004, 11:30 AM   #1290
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Carlsbad CA
Posts: 1,132
just for drill, make sure you don't have anything else connected to the firewire bus the camera is on... perhaps there is a hardware conflict.
Dan Euritt is offline  
Closed Thread

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network