Dual Dual-core AMD Opteron Processors at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 26th, 2006, 11:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 173
Dual Dual-core AMD Opteron Processors

I'm currently running an Intel 3.4 ghz machine and thinking about going to a dual core amd opteron dual processor machine.

My question is, Intel supports the hyperthreading and premiere takes advantage of it thinking there are two processessors instead of one. AMD has the HyperTransport technology and I need to know if this works the same way with Adobe premiere.

For instance, if I'm running 2 dual core amd processors, will Adobe Premiere think that I'm running 4 processessors like it would if I was running 2 intel hyperthreaded processessors?

Thanks,

Eric Holloway
Eric Holloway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2006, 04:45 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
See this thread...

CineForm Software Showcase -
What is the best computer for PP2 & Aspect HD

It might help.
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2006, 06:45 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 39
dual dual cores

Eric, go to http://www.videoguys.com/DIY4.html and read what they have to say about intel vs amd. I am building a computer based on the tyan K8WE motherboard and using two dual core opterons. It's the most complicated computer I have built yet, and thus it's taking me longer because of the learning curve. I decided on amd because of past history using amd plus what they had to say at this site. Sorry that I can't give you any personal experience with it yet - but hopefully soon!

Leslie
Leslie Dopkiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2006, 08:16 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Hyperthreading and HyperTransport are completed unrelated (other than the first six letters!). HyperTransport is an extremely fast bus for communicating between the processors. Hyperthreading is (in my opinion) a kludge to give the crippled Pentium 4 a performance boost by allowing it to be a part-dual processor.

Hyperthreading requires somewhat tricky programming to make full use of.

Premiere supports more than one processor and it should work with the operating system to make full use of 4 cores should there happen to be 4 present. It's possible that it is hard-coded to work on 2 at most. I'd like to say that's unlikely but....
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2006, 09:25 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by John F Miller
Hyperthreading and HyperTransport are completed unrelated (other than the first six letters!). HyperTransport is an extremely fast bus for communicating between the processors. Hyperthreading is (in my opinion) a kludge to give the crippled Pentium 4 a performance boost by allowing it to be a part-dual processor.
The good thing about Hyper-threading is that you can turn it off in your cmos and get a little better performance (most of the time) ;-)
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2006, 02:26 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
For video editing, I've always heard to go AMD. I've got a dual dual-core opteron system on order which should be arriving within the next few weeks. I edit HDV and I think it'll handle it nicely. 4 gigs of ram, ati radeon 1900xt and four 250gb sata hard drives raid'ed together.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2006, 10:39 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 186
I built a dual dual core opteron system based around a Tyan mother board and opteron 265's with 8 gigs of ram. I had considered going FCP until I got this one together, but this thing is a monster. I can edit HVX footage with ease.
Greg Bates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2006, 07:15 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
I met my dual operton machine for the first time today.

Impressive performance. My being impressed may not be noteworthy. What made me feel good was that the guys who were building the machine were amazed at it's performance. They had never worked with HVX footage, but after adding some effects to a short test clip, they commented they had never seen effects produced so quickly without rendering. It was pretty much real time.

Unfortunately, they built it with drives smaller than I ordered. Insted of 4 500's, they used 4 250's. Now I have to wait the long weekend with nowhere to go and no new toy to play with. (Needless to say I have no $$ either).

Happy 4th!
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2006, 08:01 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 39
Greg - what audio?

Finally got the little monster together. I've got two 250s in a sata raid 0, a 250 for winxp to live on and a 300 for extra stuff, 4gig ram, nvida geoforce6800. Greg, what did you use for audio on your tyan motherboard? I still have to decide that. But at least it works and I can put the software on it and start playing. Glad to hear you all are happy, I can't wait to try this out!
Leslie Dopkiss is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network