PPro2 24p Project question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 6th, 2006, 05:13 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mexico
Posts: 3
PPro2 24p Project question

Hi, I have a question:

I used a XL2 using 24p 2:3 - 16:9 to shoot a short, the final editing process must be transfered again to miniDv in 29.97 fps with the same aspect ratio and brodcast quality.

So the question is: The project must be Dv 24p NTSC?, if this is right i think i'm missing where do I specify the final output for the 30fps.

I hope someone can help me.

Thanks!
Guillermo Carrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 06:27 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 206
when shooting 24p 2:3, you usually edit in a 60i timeline, not a 24p timeline. this will allow you to transfer back to tape at 29.97 fps. When editing true 24fps, you want to shoot with the 2:3:3:2 pulldown and edit in a 24p timeline (just in case you wanted to know), then you are able to make a 24p dvd.
__________________
http://wildlookout.com
Wes Coughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 6th, 2006, 06:52 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Mexico
Posts: 3
Thanks Wes, then I have to work in a 60i timeline, do I have to capture the footage again?, i will try it anyway.

Thanks for your response.
Guillermo Carrera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7th, 2006, 08:39 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bend, Oregon
Posts: 206
I'm not sure, because im still working with ppro 1.5, and there were a lot of 24p issues changed around in the new version premiere pro 2. I have a feeling you might have to re-capture, but mabye someone else knows other.
__________________
http://wildlookout.com
Wes Coughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2006, 05:18 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 570
A late answer but for people who'd like to know, no, you don't need to recapture, just create a new 60i project and import the AVI files into it. The capture does not change a thing to the footage. It is captured into standard 60i MS DV files regardless of shooting format. The timeline then dictates how it is treated (that and the 24fps flags added by the camera).
David Lach is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network