Frame Blending??!! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 5th, 2006, 11:42 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 232
Frame Blending??!!

Hi All,
Using PPRo2 along with Aspect HD, when I drop clips into the timeline, by default frame blending is checked. Does anyone know how to make the default for frame blending off? Frame blending at 24fps makes me dizzy! Uck!
Thanks,
Jon
Jon Jaschob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2006, 01:36 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,152
As long as you do not slow down the speed of a clip no frame blending is applied. Premiere Pro only applies frame blending when a clip's speed is set below 100%.
__________________
Christopher Lefchik :: My Spot on the WWW

:: Got questions? Need answers? Try a DV Info search! ::
Christopher Lefchik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2006, 07:32 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC Metro area
Posts: 579
FWIW, "The PPr0 2.0 Bible" from Wiley states...

"The Frame Blend option prevents choppy video when you've changed speed or Frame Rate of clips. By default, Frame Blend is on."

It can be found in the Main Menu, under Clips/Video Options/Frame Blend. As claimed, Frame Blend is checked. I suppose you could just un-check it.
__________________
Denis
------------
Our actions are based on our own experience and knowledge. Thus, no one is ever totally right, nor totally wrong. We simply act from what we "know" to be true, based on that experience and knowledge. Beyond that, we pose questions to others.
Denis Danatzko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2006, 11:05 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 232
Thanks for the info guys, but I'm not changing the speed, unless PPro "thinks" I have by using Aspect HD and 24fps. I have a lot of short cuts so I have to remember to go back and un-check FB on all of them. BTW, my footage looks fine without FB at down to 75%. But I have used it on pans that are at the wrong speed for 24fps.
Jon
Jon Jaschob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2006, 06:20 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 232
Ok, I think I got to the bottom of this if anyone else is having this problem. Frame blending is on by defualt, but it on "blends frames" if you mess with the timeing, otherwise it does nothing. Just wish there was a master switch to turn it off, unless I need it. Even my slowed down clips look better without it.
Jon
Jon Jaschob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2007, 06:25 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 142
I know this is an old thread, but this is not the case. I'm dropping 24P avis on a 24P timeline and the frame blending does affect the render, without any speed changes. It was driving me nuts because I couldn't figure out why all my high motion scenes were REALLY strobing. The picture is also noticeably softer. What stinks is you can't select multiple clips to deactivate frame blending, you have to select each individually. Is there a way to turn of 'frame blending by default' so I don't have to do this to each clip every time I drop it on the timeline?
John McGinley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2007, 04:35 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 1,414
I am so sick and tired of frameblending being ON by default it's insane.

What can we do?
Obin Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 05:27 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 35
Oh - man, this sucks especially if you're nesting sequences. I'm using 24p HDV - and wish there was some way to undo all the frame blending.
Jason McGovern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2008, 08:37 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Premiere also blend frames, say like if you place a 29.97fps video to a 24p timeline.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2008, 03:52 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
If the footage is different framerate than the timeline, even like 50p against 50i, frame blending starts "working".

Usually this is not good, unless you know what you're doing.

The only "fast" way to turn it off for me was to assign a shortcut key to Frame Blend and manually click on each clip.

It should be in preferences, but so far Adobe has ignored my feature requests. Maybe if we all file it, they will reconsider.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2008, 09:29 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
click on the clip in the bin and turn off frame blending before you place it in the timeline. go to Clip>Video Options>Frame Blend.

-JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2008, 02:49 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Stakes View Post
click on the clip in the bin and turn off frame blending before you place it in the timeline. go to Clip>Video Options>Frame Blend.

-JS
LOL, I got my own tip posted back :)

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=121041
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network