Is there a way to turn 60i to 60p? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 20th, 2006, 10:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Warren, NJ
Posts: 398
Is there a way to turn 60i to 60p?

For sports. Created the project as 720p60. However there doesn't seem to be a way to treat interlaced half frames as full frames. This is common in many sports analysis programs. Was hoping to find a way with PP. So far attempts included frame options and Field Interpolate video effect.

Thanks,

David
David Ziegelheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2006, 11:30 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burnaby & Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Ziegelheim
Created the project as 720p60...
The (Premiere) project is 720p60, but what format is the original footage? 720p60 as well or something else?
__________________
Earl R. Thurston
Director of Digital Media Services
Stargate Connections Inc.
Made with GY-HD100: The Container Adventures: The Rescue
Earl Thurston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 06:47 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Warren, NJ
Posts: 398
The original footage is 60i DV. There are 60 720x240 frames there that several sports programs turn into 60p. However, it seems that PP wants to turn it into 30p duplicating frames. If you turn off deinterlacing and interpolation, you get two frames overlayed in each frame.

Is there a way to get it to split the frames with odd on one and even on the other?
David Ziegelheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2006, 08:10 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
While I'm sure there is a way to do this in PPro, I use the free Virtualdub software to create 720p60 footage, and then import that into premiere for editing.

I trust the quality of the Vdub resizing algorithms, there is a "Smartdeinterlace" filter available that IMHO works better than the PPro deinterlacers, and its fast.

Here's the link to the filter:
http://neuron2.net/smart/smart.html
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 12:01 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burnaby & Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 282
Looks like you may need to use another program for this. No matter what I tried, PPro kept treating the two fields as one frame, which is technically correct but not what you want.

I know that After Effects can do this, though. It can treat individual fields as if they are frames.
__________________
Earl R. Thurston
Director of Digital Media Services
Stargate Connections Inc.
Made with GY-HD100: The Container Adventures: The Rescue
Earl Thurston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 07:25 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Warren, NJ
Posts: 398
How do you do it in AE?
David Ziegelheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 08:48 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Using the 'interpret footage' option. AFX's Help explains the details.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 09:22 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burnaby & Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 282
I just tried it now and it turned out to be pretty simple. I created a 1280 x 720 59.94 fps composition and loaded an ordinary DV AVI file (720 x 480 29.97 fps/60i). After Effects shows each field on each frame individually.

Keep in mind it has to interpolate the missing lines, so you end up with a shimmering effect as the interpolation alternates between frames. However, that's as good as you would expect for what you are trying to do. (It would take field blending to cover this, which is what you are trying to avoid.)

Interpreting 60i material as 60p is quite common in After Effects as it's the only way to manipulate the individual fields, sometimes needed for complex rotoscoping and retouching work.
__________________
Earl R. Thurston
Director of Digital Media Services
Stargate Connections Inc.
Made with GY-HD100: The Container Adventures: The Rescue

Last edited by Earl Thurston; September 24th, 2006 at 12:09 AM.
Earl Thurston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2006, 09:28 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
A good 'bob' filter can virtually eliminate that shimmer ... there are several for AviSynth for example.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 05:18 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: switzerland
Posts: 2,131
there are only 2 easy way to do this correctly.
1) you trade resolution for speed and you consider each frame as picture.
you got 1080i becomes 540p.
you can uprez to get get back 1080, but this would bring nothing more than what you get already (except more pixel) since doubling line is not really an improvement.
2) you keep resolution and trade for speed.
deinterlacing will get you 1080i60 to 1080p30.
you can interpolate to get back 60p, but the risk is getting artifact visible when looking at stills, because in this process you interpolate twice, at deinterlace and at frame picture doubling. For regular movie, i think it is the best workflow.

If your final product is a DVD or is displayed on Standard Definition device, solution 1 is the best.
if you need to keep it HD, the 2nd solution is better.
Giroud Francois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 10:17 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
It is perfectly feasible to get good-quality 1080p60 using an appropriate 'smart" deinterlacer. Bright people have put considerable time into developing them.

If you don't consider this 'correct', then by all means stick with your preferred workflow.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2006, 12:00 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Burnaby & Maple Ridge BC
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Hickling
A good 'bob' filter can virtually eliminate that shimmer...
I hadn't heard of these before, but you are quite right. From what I've read, a "bob" filter selectively chooses which parts of the image to interpolate or not based on movement. For example, if something is static in the background, it will combine the two fields rather than interpolate the missing lines, but if something is moving in the foreground, then various types of interpolation (some "smart", some rudimentary, depending on the filter) will fill in the missing lines.
__________________
Earl R. Thurston
Director of Digital Media Services
Stargate Connections Inc.
Made with GY-HD100: The Container Adventures: The Rescue
Earl Thurston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network