Baffling color correction export problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 5th, 2006, 10:24 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 88
Baffling color correction export problem

I have been having a bugger of a time figuring this one out. There is one group of similar scenes (same setting, subject, camera settings) in my timeline of a 24-minute project that seems to not be taking the color correction I apply when exported.

I've tried multiple things: FastCC, 3-Point CC, Luma mask. I can get the hot shirt on the subject to where I want it to be in the timeline, but when exported, the CC does not take for ONLY the scenes involving this subject. All other scenes that have been CC'd export properly.

I've screened some shots to show you what I mean.

Here is the source file straight from the camera:

http://www.sect1.com/files/josh/source.bmp

Here is the effect done to my liking:

http://www.sect1.com/files/josh/timeline.bmp

Here are the settings used:

http://www.sect1.com/files/josh/effectcontrol1.bmp
http://www.sect1.com/files/josh/effectcontrol2.bmp

And here is what it looks like when exported:

http://www.sect1.com/files/josh/export.bmp

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Joshua Clarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5th, 2006, 01:24 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,100
Looks like the luma in the shirt might be over threshold, and being clamped.

I'd look for a broadcast safe component in the export chain.

Or, to really fix it, you might need to bring down saturation and the white level in the CC filter.
__________________
My Work: nateweaver.net
Nate Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2006, 02:04 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 359
For a start, great job with the CC there.

Second, are you using PPro 2.0? I don't remember seeing a FastCC on 1.5

Regarding the luma clipping I remember having a video limiter option in the Color Corrector that display the same effect if switched on - are you using it in this clip?
__________________
Do or do not, there is no try.
Dave Ferdinand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2006, 02:11 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 359
http://www.geocities.com/headlesspup...f/cctest3b.jpg
__________________
Do or do not, there is no try.
Dave Ferdinand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2006, 08:26 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 88
Dave,

Yes I am using PP2.0. I had applied a video limiter at one point, when it was FastCC'd and had a luma mask applied. This was actually the beginning of my problems. When I first exported and played back with these settings applied is when I noticed that something was getting messed up in the export.

One person I spoke with believed it might be a problem with having applied and deleted various effects. I'm not sure of the validity of that however.
Joshua Clarke is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:05 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network