unsharp mask renders time ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 9th, 2006, 06:37 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ankara, Turkey
Posts: 136
unsharp mask renders time ?

hi,

I apply unsharp mask (amount :80 treshold:1.5 radius:1) to an 20 second clip and hit enter(for playing back properly in time line), render time was nearly 15 minutes ! is this normal or is there a problem with my compter ? if this time is normal, then what will I do while rendering the whole 40 min film ?

I use premiere pro 2.0,
my pc config: intel d820 dual2.8, 2 gb ram, ati x700 256mb video, 750 gb hard drive..

thanks
Alkim Un is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2006, 11:54 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 232
Last year I used MB Auto Art on 20 minutes of footage, it took over 10 hours to render on a amd 1500+ system! Welcome to computing 101 ... lol.
Jon Jaschob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2006, 03:21 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden, Stockholm
Posts: 469
Hi,

25fps
720x576 pixels

20 seconds

25*20*720*576 = 207360000 pixels to process

Alas operations as unsharp mask and noise remove is VERY cpu intensive due to the numbers of pixels to process!

// Lazze
__________________
Sony HDR-CX130,Canon 5DMKII,i7 930@4.0, 12gb memory, 3x SSD + 2x1Tb(stripe), Geforce 480, Dual 24", Win 7 x64
Lars Siden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2007, 08:58 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ankara, Turkey
Posts: 136
you guys are wrong or didn' understand one thing. if I export the same 20 sec video with unsharp mask and levels applied, it takes 40 seconds(_avi). but for the real time preview if I adjust teh work area slide and hit enter for render, it takes 15 mins. that is what I want to know.

is it probable that the timeline uses cinepac ? codec and it is really hard to render it. or why premiere use the same method like after affcts ram prewiev ?

thanks,
alkim.
Alkim Un is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2007, 09:12 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ankara, Turkey
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lars Siden
Hi,

25fps
720x576 pixels

20 seconds

25*20*720*576 = 207360000 pixels to process

Alas operations as unsharp mask and noise remove is VERY cpu intensive due to the numbers of pixels to process!

// Lazze
but if you consider the transistor count of pentium D 230 million, 207 million is not the huge number that cpu cannot cope with. though I understand that the sharpening is cpu hungry application

alkim.
Alkim Un is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13th, 2007, 09:22 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ankara, Turkey
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alkim Un
or why premiere use the same method like after affcts ram prewiev ?

thanks,
alkim.

I correct my question was "why premiere doesnt use ram preview like aftr affcts"
Alkim Un is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network