In A Crunch! Haaaalp! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 14th, 2006, 09:46 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
In A Crunch! Haaaalp!

Is there a way to cut up one long clip (talking head interview) on the timeline and bring it back to the project panel in smaller, usable clips?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 10:38 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I would normally put the long clip into the source window and then set the in/out points and then drag to the project window. Give it a name (or in older versions than 2.0 just rename it). Move the in/out and repeat.

If you already have it on the sequence, I believe you can doubleclick on each clip in the sequence, which opens it in the source monitor, and then you drag from there to the project window.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 11:31 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Okay. That's what I wanted to know. I don't drag the timeline clip itself to the project panel (it would not allow that) I drag the trimmed clip from the source monitor back to the project panel?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 11:45 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Would sub-clips do what you are trying to do? They are easy to create.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 12:21 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Hugh,

That's correct. Doubclick on the clip in the timeline, don't try to drag it. It ends up in the Source monitor. From there you drag it to the project panel.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 02:38 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Pete: I never had occasion to use subclips so I don't know if that's my solution. By the way, I hope DVC#7 is going smoothly for you thus far. I have one more night of shooting and then a marathon editing session starting maybe tonight and definitely Friday until... This is one movie that will be made in the editing suite.

Steve: That is my answer. Thank you much. Time is not my ally this challenge and streamlining my workflow will save my a** from the wall of shame.

Thanks to the both of you.
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 10:01 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Steve, it's not working. I'm still awake editing. Any other things for me to try?
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2006, 10:32 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh DiMauro
Steve, it's not working. I'm still awake editing. Any other things for me to try?

Email sent!

Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 08:49 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Mike: I haven't checked my e-mail yet but I will after this post. I continued monkeying with it last night and I accidentally discovered subclips! (Thank you, Pete Bauer!).

* I've discovered that if I place a trimmed version of a longer clip from the source monitor into the timeline then double click it to bring it back to the source monitor, it will not allow me to move the trimmed clip from the source monitor into the program panel.

* However, PPro 2.0 does allow me to move a trimmed clip directly from the source monitor to the program panel after I rename the clip.

For some reason once the clip ends up in the timeline the program refuses to allow me to move it from the source monitor to the program panel.

I have to re-trim everything but now at least I know how to do it for future projects. Thanks to everybody for all your help. Now, on to Mike's e-mail...
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 09:02 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Somewhere in the Negev
Posts: 1,189
Mike and Steve:

I received your e-mails and sent a response. Thank you for your quick and helpful assistance when I needed it most!

Happy Holidays to All!
__________________
Interesting, if true. And interesting anyway.
Hugh DiMauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2006, 01:29 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
Hugh,

I see your problem. Simple solution. Sorry I missed it.

Put the CTI over the clip in the sequence and press T. That will bring up the original clip from the project window with the appropriate in/out points for the section of interest. Drag that over and you will have your subclip.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network