PPro2 and XH-A1 Capture Newbie at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2007, 08:08 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
PPro2 and XH-A1 Capture Newbie

OK....I have run out of search terms without finding the precise problem I'm having.

Trying to capture the first AWESOME footage from my new XH-A1 with Premiere Pro 2.0. Everything appears OK, except that the captured file is mpeg. It plays back with Win Media Player, bit sorta stutters at first and has a green smear across the top.

How do I capture "editable" footage? I will likely get Aspect HD at some point, but just trying to get some early results. Do I need Aspect now?

help???
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 09:55 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
I am a huge Cineform fan, but that is not the cause of your problem. Try using VLC, a free player that should play your captures just fine.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 09:58 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
Thanks Steven......I've already DL and installed the 15 day trial and have re-captured. LOOKS GREAT. I guess I was trying to stall off spending the $500, but I'm committed to HDV, so what's another 1/2K.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2007, 11:10 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
So.....What happened to the audio?

Well....The captured clips DO look GREAT. However....The audio won't play in preview or while scrubbing. Nothing in Audition either. The clips will play fine outside PPro (Win Media Player) and I can import other audio clips into the same project and they play fine.

The waveform isn't showing in the L/R audio track either. I've done everything I know to do with the audio track.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 12:04 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Estes Park, CO USA
Posts: 426
Make sure you've set play audio on desktop in the playback settings. It's likely that you have the cam plugged in on the Firewire connection and it's playing back your audio there. Go to Project>Project Settings>General>Playback settings.

Also check Preference>Audio Hardware and make sure something hasn't gotten changed there.

I just bought the same camera and use the same software and it imports and plays natively fine for me (with audio). Sometimes clips play a little roughly on my 18 month-old PC, but they play. And PPro does capture as mpeg files (instead of m2t).

I'll buy Cineform (and upgrade my PC) when I get my first paying project. To me it only make sense to work with i-frames and leave the GOP stuff for acquisition and delivery.

Keep us posted,
Brian Brown
Brian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 06:37 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
Everything appears right with the project (audio) settings. This is my first capture off this cam and I am capturing through PPro2 to an Aspect project. I've also tried using HDLink with the same results. The audio is in the clip, just not playing in the timeline.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 11:22 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
Cineform Fixed The Bug

Aspect HD 4.3.0 Build 75 had a bug. Cineform fixed it today and I downloaded and reinstalled (Build 76, I think) and problem gone. Works great now.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network