Windows XP 64 bits at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 11th, 2007, 12:35 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Windows XP 64 bits

Did anyone ever try Windows XP 64 bits with premiere pro 2.0? Is it worth the upgrade? Supposedly regular windows doesn't allow any application to use more than 2GB AND none other version allows 64 bit usage (except vista). I was wondering if anyone tried and what were the results.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 04:19 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 1,675
Images: 1
I'm curious too. I've got 4 gb installed in anticipation and I hate not being able to use it.
__________________
BenWinter.com
Ben Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2007, 04:35 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
This has been discussed ad infinitum. WinXP Pro supports 4 GB of RAM. PremPro does not support XP64. If you want the hassle, go ahead. Be ready for some serious tweaking in your registry however. Multiple posts about this issue can be found on various forums. Be warned that there is NO performance gain and with Vista recent figures indicate a performance loss of around 25%. If you want to use more memory but suffer a performance loss in render times, go ahead.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 03:31 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 716
Harm,

Windows XP supports up to 3 GBs.

I have been running PPro 2.0 on Win 64 for past half a year and it has been the most stable setup I've worked with so far (and I've worked with several).

No problems at all.
Bart Walczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2007, 04:32 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
"The human mind ordinarily operates at only ten percent of its capacity. The rest is overhead for the operating system."

Same with XP. It recognizes up to 4 GB, but applications can only use a maximum of 3 GB. The rest is used by XP.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 03:35 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Does Windows XP automatically use 3GB with premiere pro 2.0 or do I have to set something up?
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 04:15 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
You have to set a switch in the Boot.ini file. Best search the Microsoft Knowledgebase for details.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 04:45 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Thanks. I'm going to look into it right now.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 04:56 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,225
Ok, I found the switches and I understand they have to be somehow done to the boot.ini file, but I have absolutely no idea how to do it. Can anyone shad some light here?

I found 3 switches that seem useful, but I would like to be sure about which one to use.

SWITCH#1 /burnmemory=number
This switch specifies the amount of memory, in megabytes, that Windows cannot use. Use this parameter to confirm a performance problem or other problems that are related to RAM depletion. For example, type /burnmemory=128 to reduce the physical memory that is available to Windows by 128 MB.

SWITCH#2 /3GB
This switch forces x86-based systems to allocate 3 GB of virtual address space to programs and 1 GB to the kernel and to executive components. A program must be designed to take advantage of the additional memory address space. With this switch, user mode programs can access 3 GB of memory instead of the usual 2 GB that Windows allocates to user mode programs. The switch moves the starting point of kernel memory to 3 GB. Some configurations of Microsoft Exchange Server 2003 and Microsoft Windows Server 2003 may require this switch.

For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
823440 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/823440/) You must use the /3GB switch when you install Exchange Server 2003 on a Windows Server 2003-based system


For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
171793 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/171793/) Information on application use of 4GT RAM tuning

SWITCH#3 /maxmem=number
This switch specifies the amount of RAM, in bytes, that Windows can use. For example, if you want Windows to use less than 64 MB of memory, use the /maxmem=64 switch.

However, the /maxmem switch does not account for memory holes. Therefore, we recommend that you use the /burnmemory switch instead. The /burnmemory switch accounts for memory holes.

For example, if you use the /Maxmem=64 switch, and the system requires 64 MB of memory to load, there may not actually be 64 MB availalbe to the system because of a memory hole. In this scenario, Windows would not start.

For more information, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
108393 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/108393/) MAXMEM option in Windows NT Boot.ini file
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 04:48 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 663
I am using XP x64 and did not have to do anything at all to get Ppro 2.0 to work. I don't know about official benchmarks, but it does run much faster than 32-bit. Previews are faster, rendering is faster, encoding is faster. Everything is faster. It is not fully 64-bit, but it does have some 64-bit optimized code. I don't find it to be particularly stable, though. But then again, I never have found Premiere to be stable.

As far as Vista goes, it is slower overall than XP, so unless the test is between Vista 32 and Vista 64, it doesn't really help us with this question.
Jad Meouchy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network