Anyone using the V1U with Premiere Pro yet? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Adobe Creative Suite
All about the world of Adobe Premiere and its associated plug-ins.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 22nd, 2007, 11:16 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 539
Anyone using the V1U with Premiere Pro yet?

Has anyone managed to figure out a 24P workflow for PPro 2.0 by any chance? Or are Premiere users waiting for 3.0 to come out?
Craig Irving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2007, 05:19 PM   #2
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Stockton, UT
Posts: 5,648
For the moment, you'll need to capture with the CineForm tools, or use an HD-SDI card, or use the Black Magic Intensity.
Those are your only options until the software is updated. NAB is coming...perhaps you'll get a better answer then.
__________________
Douglas Spotted Eagle/Spot
Author, producer, composer
Certified Sony Vegas Trainer
http://www.vasst.com
Douglas Spotted Eagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 11:32 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 539
Has anyone had much success editing with the BlackMagic Intensity? I didn't know that I could edit uncompressed HD from the BlackMagic without using CineForm's tools (as great as they seem to be, it's just not in my budget atm).

Am I correct in understanding that Premiere Pro 2.0 can edit uncompressed HD smoothly and with proper support for the V1U's 24P as well? Is there something that CineForm would offer over this workflow that I'm overlooking?
Craig Irving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2007, 06:26 PM   #4
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Irving View Post
Has anyone had much success editing with the BlackMagic Intensity? I didn't know that I could edit uncompressed HD from the BlackMagic without using CineForm's tools (as great as they seem to be, it's just not in my budget atm).
CineForm now fully supports HDMI via BlackMagic Intensity. I know it costs "extra" above PP 2, but if you think you need to work work with an intermediate codec -- I don't see how you can afford not to buy Aspect HD. The product is just too good not to put on a credit card.

I assume one doesn't get TC via HDMI so using does prevent batch recapture.
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 01:32 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leesburg, Va
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Irving View Post
Has anyone managed to figure out a 24P workflow for PPro 2.0 by any chance? Or are Premiere users waiting for 3.0 to come out?
I have been playing around with it. I took some footage from a Canon XH-A1 at my local store and loaded it on my Laptop. I think both the Canon and the Sony V1 are MPEG-2 formats. Then transferred it to my big system – where Premiere Pro resides. I did download the Canon HD files from Adobe and I have been pleased with the results. I’ve changed a few clips, pulled out parts of a clip, added some titles and built an output MPEG - m2v file – and VLC reads it fine with quality equal to the input (using my mark one eyeball).

The bad news: My 2.5 minute clip had a lot of changes and it took 25 minutes to render. I also had some problems is translating it to an AVI file – I let a 2.5 minute clip run for 1 hour – it was a little over a 1/3 done – I canceled it – not usable.

Net: It seems to work fine – just a little slow on the rendering

ChrisG
Chris Gerow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2007, 03:24 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 539
Chris,

I conceded and decided to try Aspect HD. It really is amazing and does edit much smoother.

That said, I just can't bring myself to buy it until I know what Adobe is going to be doing with their new Production Suite. CineForm also announced that they would be talking about some "new adobe stuff" at NAB this year, so maybe that means bundling their intermediate codec with the new version of Adobe (like they do with Sony Vegas).

However, there will still be compelling reasons to invest in Aspect HD at that point also, but I'm going to wait and see how it pans out.

On a side note, does anyone know if it's a one-time purchase and if you pay for upgrades (aside from small patches and bug fixes) ? I assume a major version upgrade would cost more, but what kind of history does CineForm have for charging for upgrades?
Craig Irving is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Adobe Creative Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network